Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Power Problems with PC

This is a discussion on Power Problems with PC within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm having a few. First of all, sometimes when I try to turn on my computer, the fan will stop


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-22-2014, 08:17 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 1,156
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64 bit

My System


I'm having a few.

First of all, sometimes when I try to turn on my computer, the fan will stop turning, then I'll press the power button again, but the blue light on my monitor indicating the monitor is getting a signal will stay yellow (no signal)

Sometimes I'll just turn it on and there will be no problems with the fan, but the monitor light will just stay yellow.

Also, my computer will either go to sleep and I won't be able to wake it up with the mouse/keyboard

Or, I will tell it to shut down and it won't. Windows will shut down and my screen will go dark but the computer simply will not shut off.

What seems to work sometimes is disconnecting the power cord from the back of my PC. Then, pressing the power button while it is disconnected, to drain the rest of the power from the PC. Then, after re-attaching the power cable, and waiting for a few seconds, I am able to turn it on, and it will load into windows. However, what will happen is the fan will rev-up, that is go from turning one speed to another speed, then it is able to start, but it is much louder now.

I tried real temp to see if the temperatures were high, they aren't.
PC person is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-23-2014, 10:37 AM   #2
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,491
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Inside the BIOS what are the 12V, 5V, 3.3V, and VCORE voltages?
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 11-23-2014, 10:51 AM   #3
Networking Team |Tech
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 4,117
OS: Windows 10



Hi PC Person,

When you get a chance, please list your computer specs. How much power(watts) is your power supply running?
DBCooper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-23-2014, 11:41 AM   #4
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



OP's "My System" shows a laptop. If that is not the unit in question, post the specs.
PC Specs & age?
Pre- Built Brand & Model Number
Custom Built- Brand & Model of Mobo-CPU-RAM-Graphics-PSU.



Tyree is offline  
Old 11-29-2014, 06:23 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 1,156
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64 bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
OP's "My System" shows a laptop. If that is not the unit in question, post the specs.
PC Specs & age?
Pre- Built Brand & Model Number
Custom Built- Brand & Model of Mobo-CPU-RAM-Graphics-PSU.
Yes, I want to post both of systems, but there is not enough room for that. Can I maybe include it in my signature?
PC person is offline  
Old 11-29-2014, 06:54 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 1,156
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64 bit

My System


Here's my BIOS screen. Had to first upload it to facebook (after taking the pic with my phone) because google drive wasn't working. I'd upload it to photobucket directly if I could, but I think the Ap isn't free.

PC person is offline  
Old 11-30-2014, 09:57 AM   #7
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,491
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Let's take a look at your system hardware specifications. Please follow this guide on how to get those specifications:

How to find your system specifications | Tech Support Forum
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 12-05-2014, 09:32 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 1,156
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64 bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterchiefxx17 View Post
Let's take a look at your system hardware specifications. Please follow this guide on how to get those specifications:

How to find your system specifications | Tech Support Forum
I can give you those. it's just I have more than one computer and not all of will fit under the my system tab. I think I'll make a suggestion asking if I could have a my system 2 tab, or 3 tab, or however many someone needs (within reason) so I don't have to type it every time.
PC person is offline  
Old 12-06-2014, 07:11 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 1,156
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64 bit

My System


Ok, so now that's it's been established that the system specs could have changed without the poster updating them, and that the My System tab doesn't have enough room for both my systems (or even the whole of my new system's hardware) Can I put it in my signature? Actually, are either of the two biography sections part of my signature when I post?

I do have all the hardware (minus a few tweaks since I received the system- I'll add those) on the order form from when I bought the system 2 years ago.

Edit- Signature isn't long enough either, guess I'll have link it to a page with my Specs on it
PC person is offline  
Old 12-06-2014, 08:13 PM   #10
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,491
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Signature should allow up to 1000 characters, which should be enough.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 12-09-2014, 12:52 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 1,156
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64 bit

My System


Here's my System, probably need the BIOS version though, right

https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...ml#post5862450
PC person is offline  
Old 12-09-2014, 04:07 PM   #12
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,491
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Let's take a small step back. You never did answer my first question about the voltages.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 12-09-2014, 06:39 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 1,156
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64 bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterchiefxx17 View Post
Let's take a small step back. You never did answer my first question about the voltages.
Voltages are

12V-12.000V
5V-5.040V
3.3V- 3.376V

CPU Vcore Voltage- 1.296V
PC person is offline  
Old 12-09-2014, 07:54 PM   #14
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,491
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Voltages are spot on, that's good.

Please preform a MemTest86+ test using this guide here:

How to perform a MemTest86+ Test | Tech Support Forum
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 12-10-2014, 01:31 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 1,156
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64 bit

My System


Here's the test, did it for a few hours (as it says)

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B8...Q3c&authuser=0
PC person is offline  
Old 12-10-2014, 06:21 PM   #16
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,491
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Did it report any errors? I cannot view your document.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 12-10-2014, 10:45 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 1,156
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64 bit

My System


This is better

PC person is offline  
Old 12-11-2014, 08:31 AM   #18
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,491
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


No errors reporting, that's good. Although you did run with all the memory installed.

Have you installed any new software or drivers lately?

Let's also test out the hard drive.

How to perform a Seagate's Seatools Test | Tech Support Forum
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer won't post BIOS
I have a friends old PC and was reinstalling XP at their request as they've had trouble and thought it might help. I formatted, reinstalled XP and then restarted after installing the drivers which were missing. After the restart I was unable to install any virus software, and after about five...
gemmers Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 5 10-10-2013 03:17 PM
Toshiba Satellite A300 - Booting Issues - Power Problems
Greetings, I am having an issue with my Toshiba Satellite A300 Model Number : PSAGCA-02U010 Running Windows Vista Home Premium. The issue is that it will turn itself off during booting and always at the same point.
JamesJames Laptop Support 7 05-30-2013 08:02 AM
HP DeskTop Motherboard and PS won't Power On
HP DeskTop Motherboard and PS won't Power On Hello, I am new to this forum and also troubleshooting motherboards. I've done some on-line research and tried a few recommended steps. The desktop is a: HP Pavilion Media Center a1640n - 2006
grapture Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 3 10-09-2011 11:36 PM
Power Problems, Toshiba Satellite A200
Laptop is Toshiba Satellite A200. I have been having problems with the battery and ac power adapter. When it's plugged in and the battery is in, when it's turned on the battery icon says plugged in, not charging, It will then run down the battery. When the laptop is turned of the light on...
alaidlaw Laptop Support 1 03-29-2011 11:25 AM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in todayís modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts