Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Possible faulty RAM? system power-cycling

This is a discussion on Possible faulty RAM? system power-cycling within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. So recently I decided that I'd upgrade my RAM to 16GB and I purchased a 2 x 8GB kit. After


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-03-2014, 12:53 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7 x64


Question

So recently I decided that I'd upgrade my RAM to 16GB and I purchased a 2 x 8GB kit. After installing it by following the proper procedure and taking the proper precautions - pretty much the same as the sticky on the forum - my computer would repeatedly power-cycle; would not even get to the POST.

When I put back the old ram - 2x4GB corsair vengeance low-profile - everything works fine. The Crucial website says that their kit is guaranteed compatible with my motherboard so at this stage I'm thinking the RAM was dead on arrival? unless I'm doing something wrong, would love to hear anyone's take on this.

Installation procedure followed:
1. unplugged power
2. cleared CMOS by removing battery
3. replaced ram
4. reinstalled battery
5. plugged in the power

P.S. I've tried it in another system with the same motherboard but slightly less powerful PSU and the same problem occurs.

Hardware:
RAM: Crucial Ballistix XT 2x8GB BLS2K8G3D18ADS3
Motherboard: GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
PSU: Enermax Maxrevo 1200W EMR1200EWT
raisk1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-03-2014, 01:41 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 205
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit



Hi raisk1,

My condolences my friend, I had the same issue in the past, and it is truly a horrible hassle.

First off, I went to Gigabyte's Memory compatibility list for your motherboard, here, and upon extensive searching, your memory kit was not listed, which may be the reason that you're experiencing this issue. An odd discovery, but not an end-all-be-all answer.

The specifications for your motherboard do state that it supports 1866 MHz memory modules, so theoretically, there should be no issues.

The next step is to run MemTest86, download it from PassMark MemTest86 - Memory Diagnostic Tool.

You will need to create a bootable USB with the .iso file you downloaded. For this, I like to use Rufus - Create bootable USB drives the easy way. Open the program, and select your USB drive. Browse for the .iso, and follow the prompts.

Shut down your machine, and make sure that your computer has USB drives set as the priority boot option. TO do this, enter your computer's UEFI/BIOS by starting your PC, and then pressing either F8, F2, F12, the Del key repetitively. Navigate to the "boot" tab, and make the first option your USB drive.

Run this for at least 8 passes (several hours - best to run overnight). If even one error shows up within those passes, you have a faulty kit of RAM; conduct an RMA with your supplier (retail store or warehouse from which you purchased your kit), or with Crucial themselves.

Post back with an update :D

Regards,
Ronan
HomicidalBunny is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 02:00 AM   #3
Troubled
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ft. Worth TX
Posts: 1,460
OS: Windows 7



I would check your slot placement. What works with 2x4 you would think would work with 2x8 (slot wise) but it's not always the case. Find out what (1) stick will work and go from there. Don't get to anal about memtest86 for now just find a stick that works in a slot, then try the other stick in the same slot (by itself). See what happens. If you have a stick failure then yes memtest86 like the previous poster suggested (only 7 passes are needed though).

One thing - with regards to 'some' mobos they need a 'jolt' to take a different memory configuration. You might also try clearing CMOS. POst back with any results and good luck!
T_Rex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-03-2014, 06:38 AM   #4
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Crucial's standard RAM is almost always fool proof but their Ballistix Series is the exception. It is noted for compatibility, as well as reliability, issues.
Trying the RAM in another system, if it was compatible with the Mobo, pretty much insures the RAM is defective.
My best recommendation, for your GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 Mobo, would be to return for a refund and purchase a 2x8GB match pair of G.Skill or Corsair 1600MHz.



Tyree is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 09:50 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7 x64



thanks for the replies everyone, I am unable to use memtest86+ at all because the system just power-cycles and does not even get that far.

For slot placement; I've tried all the combinations that are possible according to the motherboard manual, I have also tried the sticks individually but still get the same result.

for compatibility I checked my motherboard specs to make sure it would be compatible; gigabyte's compatibility list didn't show this particular model but they warn that the list isn't comprehensive, so I checked with crucial here 16GB kit (8GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-14900 upgrades for Giga-Byte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 Motherboard, CT4162162 from Crucial.com and it shows that it is compatible (hopefully that link works).

@ChronoGeek could you please explain what you mean by 'some mobos need a Jolt'? lol
raisk1 is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 01:24 PM   #6
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Memory Support for your Mobo is DDR3 2133/1866/1600/1333/1066 MHz.
In theory, all RAM in that category "should" work indicating the RAM you have is either defective or the Mobo doesn't like the particular sticks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
Crucial's standard RAM is almost always fool proof but their Ballistix Series is the exception. It is noted for compatibility, as well as reliability, issues.
G.Skill and Corsair are good brand options for reliability and you will see no advantage with 1866 over 1600MHz.



Tyree is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 08:30 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7 x64



Thanks for the replies everyone, I will claim the warranty on the RAM. BTW this is the 2nd kit of RAM that I ordered from PCcasegear that turned out to be faulty recently, I've had good experiences with them in the past in regard to all my other hardware, maybe its just my run of bad luck.
raisk1 is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 08:37 PM   #8
Troubled
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ft. Worth TX
Posts: 1,460
OS: Windows 7



By "Jolt" I mean sometimes something added hardware wise won't function totally correct until a CMOS reset. Sometimes it's a CPU going from a dual core to a quad. Sometimes it's memory. CMOS clearing tend to wake a motherboard up or get it's attention. It's not always the case but sometimes. Good luck with your replacement kit I hope it works out well for you.
T_Rex is offline  
Old 04-04-2014, 05:59 AM   #9
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Quote:
Originally Posted by raisk1 View Post
Thanks for the replies everyone, I will claim the warranty on the RAM. BTW this is the 2nd kit of RAM that I ordered from PCcasegear that turned out to be faulty recently, I've had good experiences with them in the past in regard to all my other hardware, maybe its just my run of bad luck.
Brand & specs of the other bad RAM?



Tyree is offline  
Old 04-04-2014, 08:17 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7 x64



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
Brand & specs of the other bad RAM?
It was corsair vengeance low-profile 16gb 4x4 kit, 2 of the sticks turned out bad when I ran memtest, lol RAM is such a pain in the backside.
raisk1 is offline  
Old 04-04-2014, 10:55 AM   #11
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Do you recall the specs of the Corsair?



Tyree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
random blue screen crash
hello i seem to have a graphics card issue and i am not sure how to fix it what happens is the computer will blue screen at any random time and it will say dumping physical memory to disk and will load till it gets to 100% and then i ususly shut it off as it will stay at that screen if i do...
pandasniper100 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 12-08-2013 07:32 AM
[SOLVED] Windows 7 x64 Crashing on Reboots
Operating System OS - Windows 7 64 bit Original OS - Windows 7 OEM version Shy of four years OS same age as system
Deletham_Tomala BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 2 03-24-2013 02:14 PM
[SOLVED] Network card or network driver causing BSOD
Hi so recently ive been having tons of problems with my computer frequently BSODing its getting really really annoying, im sorta scared to use the internet on my computer when i don't have to because it causes my computer to bluescreen, typically it happens when im on the internet and it usually...
Ravenclaw Cabling and Network Cards 8 12-19-2011 07:14 PM
Blue Screen [moved from Vista/7]
I don't know much about the pain in the bum Blue Screen but i have it. I was told to get the info from the Blue screen when it came up. Here it is - 0x00000077 (0xc000009d, 0xc000009d, 0x00000000, 0x289f4000) I just don't know where i got go from here lol. Can anyone help? Please :P
Death Keeper 34 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 4 02-02-2011 07:44 AM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in todayís modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts