Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

possible faulty ram

This is a discussion on possible faulty ram within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. ive just bought 4x1gb pc2-6400 800mhz ddr2 ram and after installing my pc wont boot up it just keeps beeping


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-31-2011, 08:29 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
OS: windows vista service pack 2



ive just bought 4x1gb pc2-6400 800mhz ddr2 ram and after installing my pc wont boot up it just keeps beeping


i have a compaq presario sr5019uk
athalon 64 3800+ 2.4Ghz
M2N68-LA (Narra) motherboard

im not sure if ive bought the wrong type of if its faulty.
nich1441 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-31-2011, 11:13 AM   #2
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 15,298
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Post the make/model number of the RAM you purchased.

Have you tested the RAM 1 at a time?

If all RAM fails then most likely cause is incompatible with your system.

I recommend using Crucial Memory Advisor for compatibility for OEM systems.

Quote:
Dual channel memory architecture

Four 240-pin DDR2 DIMM sockets

Supports PC-4200 (533 MHz), PC2-5300 (667 MHz), and PC-6400 (800 MHz) DDR2 DIMMs

Non-ECC memory only, unbuffered

supports 2GB DDR2 DIMMs

Supports up to 8 GB on 64 bit PCs

Supports up to 4 GB* on 32 bit PCs
makinu1der2 is offline  
Old 01-31-2011, 01:51 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
OS: windows vista service pack 2



im not sure what make they are the only numbers i can see are
BP LM E186014
the black chips dont have any info on them either, theres just a white sticker with 1GB PC2-6300/6400 800 MHZ DDR2

i have tried them on there own but i get the same beeping
i used a site called orca logic to find out the right type of ram before i bought it so i thought id have no problems.
a friend has also told me that they should be fine.
nich1441 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-31-2011, 02:19 PM   #4
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 15,298
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


If the new RAM does not work and the old RAM is working fine then that usually

means the RAM is not compatible.

Crucial will mostly recommend compatible RAM that will work with OEM systems.

I would suggest returning the RAM.
makinu1der2 is offline  
Old 01-31-2011, 02:42 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
hrlow2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 764
OS: Windows XP Home SP2



In older DDR RAM, that would probably mean high density trying to be used instead of the low density.
hrlow2 is offline  
Old 02-01-2011, 05:18 AM   #6
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Quote:
Originally Posted by makinu1der2 View Post
If the new RAM does not work and the old RAM is working fine then that usually

means the RAM is not compatible.

Crucial will mostly recommend compatible RAM that will work with OEM systems.

I would suggest returning the RAM.
Ditto^



Tyree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Half of the Ram detected by PC
Greetings fellow gamers, tech guys (staff members and amateurs). Now this will be normal post and a normal problem, identified by many users. I just bought this 1GB DDR1 Ram stick. I had once a stick of 256 MB of Ram (DDR1) and then added one more stick of 256 MB of ram (DDR1). After a time I...
Tech Amateur RAM and Power Supply Support 14 02-12-2011 08:22 AM
Adding Slightly different RAM
Hi guys, Firstly, the stuff you need to know... Motherboard: Gigabyte EP43-DS3 RAM: 2x1gb of DDR2 Corsair CPU: Intel Quad Core Q6600 @2.4ghz Windows 7 32bit. https://i54.tinypic.com/2ngg1p0.jpg
Jelinski619 RAM and Power Supply Support 8 01-30-2011 01:52 PM
Motherboard does not accept 8GB RAM
I recently purchased GA-G41M-ES2L motherboards and ADATA DDR2 800MHz (2 x 4GB) 8GB memory sticks from Newegg. Here are the links for the product details: https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820211486 https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128388 ...
drkabir Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 3 01-29-2011 05:29 AM
Sony PCV-W600G Ram Upgrade
Hello, I am attempting to upgrade the ram in an older machine that my wife uses. The Sony PCV-W600G currently has 512mb of DDR Ram. Sony's tech specs says this machine is capable of 1gb of ram. I installed two Kingston (value) 512MB PC2700 333 DDR Ram modules and the computer would not boot to...
jethoncho RAM and Power Supply Support 1 01-28-2011 09:42 AM
RAM Heat Spreader
Hello! Am I taking a chance by not getting a heat spreader? Are heat spreaders just eye candy? I would like to upgrade my RAM from 1G to 2Gs. I often am running grid computing software (BIONC, etc.) and a web browser, which uses up all my RAM continuously. I don't mind this as I'm usually...
GeoMoon5 RAM and Power Supply Support 4 01-17-2011 11:34 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts