Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

POP goes my video card!

This is a discussion on POP goes my video card! within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. A couple of caps on my video card went pop today. It all seemed to carry on working but I


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-23-2014, 09:16 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 194
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64



A couple of caps on my video card went pop today. It all seemed to carry on working but I powered it off anyway.

Ive read these cards ars known to blow caps, but im a little concerned as to why it happened, and if the PSU had a part to play.

I built the pc in 2008 so its not new, but still decent.

The video card was an inno3d geforce 7600 GST
The PSU is a Coolermaster RP550.

Do you think I should be concerned about the psu, and if so what's a good replacement?

This is the kind of thing ive found so far


Corsair 600W CX Builder Series 80 Plus Bronze PSU 3.. | Ebuyer.com

I know not to buy cheap psu's but dont need anything mega, its not a gaming pc.
alexondrums is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-23-2014, 09:49 AM   #2
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



How old was the GPU? It might be under warranty.
If you replace the GPU, what will you be replacing it with?
The power required would depend on the GPU selected.
Corsair aren't a recommended brand anymore.
SeaSons-XFX - "some" Antec PSU's would be the better brand option for insured quality and well worth the extra cost.



Tyree is offline  
Old 03-23-2014, 10:04 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 194
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
How old was the GPU? It might be under warranty.
If you replace the GPU, what will you be replacing it with?
The power required would depend on the GPU selected.
Corsair aren't a recommended brand anymore.
SeaSons-XFX - "some" Antec PSU's would be the better brand option for insured quality and well worth the extra cost.

Thanks for the reply.

The gpu is around 6 years old and will be replaced with a modern equivalent, so a budget / mid range card. Around 50, probably less.

Is it likely the psu is ok? Or should I replace it anyway?
alexondrums is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-23-2014, 10:18 AM   #4
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,056
OS: Win7



What is the full model number of the PSU?
Coolermaster model numbers are RS-xxx- xxxx~ example RS-550-ACAA-A1.
Wrench97 is online now  
Old 03-23-2014, 04:34 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 194
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64



Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrench97 View Post
What is the full model number of the PSU?
Coolermaster model numbers are RS-xxx- xxxx~ example RS-550-ACAA-A1.
It's RP-550-PCAA-E2
alexondrums is offline  
Old 03-23-2014, 07:19 PM   #6
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



I find the same as Wrench97. All CoolerMaster PSU's start with RS. Perhaps that's a nomenclature used for UK units?



Tyree is offline  
Old 03-24-2014, 12:14 AM   #7
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,056
OS: Win7



I found that model referenced> Cooler Master Extreme Power 550W [RP-550-PCAA-E2]: specifications, reviews, discount offers and more | Hardware.Info United States but unfortunately no useful info on it other then it's from 2008.
Wrench97 is online now  
Old 03-24-2014, 02:25 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 194
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64



Thanks for looking.

Im trying to decide if the psu is ok. I dont know a way of testing it. Ive had a quick look inside it and can't see any blown components but I know it needs more than a visual check. It was still working, but then so was the gpu, with blown caps.
alexondrums is offline  
Old 03-24-2014, 03:00 PM   #9
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,056
OS: Win7



At 6 years old it's worth considering for replacement, programs like Hardware Monitor or even the bios can give you voltage readings, however that is only part of the equation fluctuation or ripple can damaged caps by making them vibrate.
Wrench97 is online now  
Old 03-25-2014, 09:58 AM   #10
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Any PSU 6yrs. old is subject for concern. Replacing it with a good quality unit would be nothing less than a win/win deal.



Tyree is offline  
Old 03-27-2014, 12:42 AM   #11
Moderator
- Design Team
- Networking Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 2,483
OS: Windows XP SP3, Windows 7 SP1, Debian, CentOS

My System


If the cards are known to blow caps, it's unlikely the PSU had anything to do with the problem. It was probably a manufacturing problem from the capacitor source company. Even the best capacitors degrade with time, temperature, and power cycling though, and will eventually fail.

That doesn't make replacing the PSU a bad idea; when they go, they can easily take other electronics with them.
Fjandr is offline  
Old 03-27-2014, 07:30 AM   #12
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



I never dismiss a low quality (especially one 6 yrs. old) PSU as a possible cause/contributor for failed/damaged components.



Tyree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Published: All you need to know to play the latest games on a Low End PC [updated:07/02/2011]
NOTICE: I have Upgraded my CPU from a Dual Core E2200 to a Core 2 Duo E7400, so the old benchmarks are based on a Dual Core E2200, but starting from July 2011, all benchmarks will be based on the Core 2 Duo E7400 and the same Video Card Geforce 9600 GT please be aware that the following guide...
RockmasteR Dead-Sea Scrolls 17 07-20-2012 01:33 AM
Need a gaming video card
Hello everybody, I play rift a lot and Sims 3. Wondering wht type of semi-nice (medium to high settings) graphic card would work well with machine. Here is comp's DxDiag report. ------------------ System Information ------------------ Time of this report: 4/23/2011, 23:43:16 ...
Dyth Video Card Support 5 04-24-2011 07:32 AM
HDD to record on.
Hi I was looking around for a low size HDD that'll be fast for recording with Fraps. On a game such as MW2 I get stable 70-90 FPS But as soon as i hit that Fraps hotkey, its an instant drop to 30-45fps and it feels terribly laggy. I was thinking of buying a new HDD to record onto, but before...
bhstr99 Hard Drive Support 9 04-03-2011 03:06 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts