Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

poor quality ram slowing down pc?

This is a discussion on poor quality ram slowing down pc? within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I am a UK resident using an 18 month old, non brand home pc. i am running an intel


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-23-2007, 03:18 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1
OS:



Hello,

I am a UK resident using an 18 month old, non brand home pc. i am running an intel p4 3,2 ghz pc with 2 gb ram. to be honest, my computer has always ran a lot slower than I would expect it to - for example when running even a moderately old game, the graphics would become jerky and the gameplay woulld slow down, or when running multiple applications simultaneously - even for exaple when using itunes and outlook both programs become tortorously slow to respond to inputs and difficult to use. this has become paritulcaly irritatingly lately. for some reason the computer will often be fine initially, and then slow down rather suddenly 15-20 minutes after being turned on. i have been fumbling around in my own amateurish way trying to diagnose the problem, basically because im very tight and dont want to spend any money sorting it out. the pc was bought from a frankly fairly amateurish company on ebay, because it was relatively cheap. I remember reading at the time an article on a site somewhere about how some lesser known companies were known to advertise seemingly high spec pcs at low prices to fool mugs like me, and put these pcs together poorly using bad quality memory/hardware. Cleverly, i decided to ignore the article at the time. It was very cheap. Subsequently, I have always been suspicious that they used cheap or shoddy hardware/memory to put the computer together. i opened up the case the other day to install a new wireless card, and had a look at the RAM whilst i was there. It is branded as buffalo ddr2 sdram. it also had something about being non ecc/unbuffered, which didnt really mean anything to me. basically my question is whetheer or not buffalo memory has a reputation at all for being cheap unreliable memory, and if so whether this couldl account for my pc underperforming, and if not whether anyone had any other idea as to what the problem could be?

Thanks for taking the time to help. Sorry if I went on a bit there.
sue_donym is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-23-2007, 04:24 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Terrister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: West Georgia, USA
Posts: 7,285
OS: Windows 7 & 8, Mac OS-x



Download the software from the site below and run it overnight.
https://www.memtest86.com/
Terrister is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 04:04 AM   #3
Roaming To Help
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: US-UK
Posts: 5,667
OS: Too Many



Buffalo is good as a brand, but it depends which Buffalo RAM sticks you have.

Graphics quality/speed will depend mainly on your GPU rather than RAM or CPU, although CPU needs to be fair powerful.
Kalim is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-24-2007, 05:35 AM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 7,075
OS: xp pro SP3

My System


If you are using 4 - 512 modules, take 1 out and try it.
Also make sure the device manager is clean, you do not want any yellow alerts triggering hiccups in your system.
What power supply do you have installed?
speedster123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Could this be a ram issue?
Basically i have had constant freezing problems with this computer since i got it, it can idle fine, browse the web ok, but when downloading, gaming, or sometimes even installing large programs i get a complete system lock with no sound loop, even the led's on the keyboard stop responding. But...
Haineko RAM and Power Supply Support 3 12-17-2006 07:33 PM
Computer powering off and can't use 2 RAM sticks at once
I could use some help with a couple of problems, the first is that my computer is turning itself off (it just loses power as if you had unplugged it) roughly once per day. The other problem, which may be linked, is that when I install 1 stick of RAM the computer works, but when I put two in I get...
Falesh Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 4 01-03-2006 04:09 AM
computer only letting me use 512 ram
ok i have k8n-e deluxe and i had bought 1 gig of ram when i got the board, 1 stick went out on me, well randomly rebooted me, so i took that one out, went random reboot free for months, but now i want a ram upgrade, from 512 to 1.5 gigs of ram. so i bought a gig of ram. its only showing 512 ram...
Xearovegveg Other Hardware Support 8 12-06-2005 12:52 PM
Having troubles with what appears to be my Ram...Or is it?
Well hello everyone. I'm going to start out by saying I have little or no knowledge about computers other then playing games but have been learning a lot since I purchased my first one. Currently I'm trying to make the new one that I had built work properly with all components. Here is what I...
Deedub Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 4 11-09-2004 08:31 PM
Franck Uberto's xmsdsk RAM disk
I run Windows 98 and would like to have a RAM disk. I am trying Franck Uberto's xmsdsk RAM disk utility, but it's not working. The xmsdsk utility doesn't seem to work at all. A message tells me it's loaded OK, but then nothing happens. Windows never gets to boot. The emsdsk utility refused to...
lucmove Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 2 10-07-2004 01:17 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts