Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Please help with Corsair 750 TX ps for CPU power

This is a discussion on Please help with Corsair 750 TX ps for CPU power within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. What connector/cable do I use for the 4-pin 12V ATX CPU power? I see one binded with the 20-pin ATX


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-16-2009, 08:46 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 149
OS: XP SP2



What connector/cable do I use for the 4-pin 12V ATX CPU power? I see one binded with the 20-pin ATX connector to make the 24-pin connector, but usually these can be easily split but on the Corsair, the 20-pin and 4-pin are taped and wrapped together to make the 24-pin connection. Do I just unwrap and cut the sheath apart to split this 20/4 pin connection to use the 4 pins? Or do I use a combination of two of the two free 6-8 pin PCI-E connectors, or the 8-4 pin EPS ATX 12V, which doesn't seem to fit. Here's a pic, please tell me which one:

https://www.wolfmanzbytes.com/pc/cors...caps7509lg.jpg

Thanks in advance!
ngrome is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-16-2009, 10:40 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
grimx133's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada eh
Posts: 4,456
OS: xp mce sp2, xp pro sp2, windows 7 x86

My System


Don't use the 4 pins from the 20+4 ATX power cable. The cpu power is a separate cable with a 4+4 configuration. If the motherboard has a 4 pin socket for the cpu power, split it and use 4 pins. It'll have 2 yellow and 2 black wires, 2 x 12v. and 2 grounds. If the board has an 8 pin socket, then use all 8.
grimx133 is offline  
Old 02-17-2009, 07:25 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 149
OS: XP SP2



Quote:
Originally Posted by grimx133 View Post
Don't use the 4 pins from the 20+4 ATX power cable. The cpu power is a separate cable with a 4+4 configuration. If the motherboard has a 4 pin socket for the cpu power, split it and use 4 pins. It'll have 2 yellow and 2 black wires, 2 x 12v. and 2 grounds. If the board has an 8 pin socket, then use all 8.
Thanks for the reply, but I can't seem to locate the four pin you're discussing with me, unless I make up a combination of two pins (third picture from left). I'm trying to get a combination of four pins from the second picture from left to work, but doesn't seem to fit unless I'm not aligning it properly. The CPU power connection on the motherboard is only 4 pin, not 8. Hopefully, this image came out as the link didn't seem to work, but this is all that I have.

ngrome is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-17-2009, 07:41 AM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



match them up here

https://www.playtool.com/pages/psucon...onnectors.html



dai is offline  
Old 02-17-2009, 01:30 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 149
OS: XP SP2



Quote:
Originally Posted by dai View Post
Thanks. I looked at my picture and then the pictures from your link, but it's hard for me to believe this particular power supply doesn't have a 4 + 4 pin cable connector. I just don't see it. When I get home tonight, I'll double check but the original picture I posted is all the connections this PSU has.
ngrome is offline  
Old 02-17-2009, 04:09 PM   #6
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,070
OS: Win7



Good to hear you have it resolved:)
Wrench97 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts