Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

pfn list corrupt

This is a discussion on pfn list corrupt within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I purchased this memory for my self-built pc in Sep 08. I'm still new at building pc's. https://www.newegg.com/product/produc...AFC-C8Junction Newegg

Closed Thread

Old 06-26-2009, 11:16 PM   #1

Hi,

I purchased this memory for my self-built pc in Sep 08. I'm still new at building pc's.

https://www.newegg.com/product/produc...AFC-C8Junction

Newegg doesn't seem to have that particular one anymore (design-wise) [Deactivated item]. I wanted to upgrade my ram and through my purchase history, selected and bought the same ram again a few days ago. I thought they were the same. This one:

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227267

When I got it I noticed that the design of the heatsink was different. Nevertheless, I plugged it in and my system recognized a total of 8gb ram now. Everything seemed to work. Today I suddenly got the BSOD with a line stating "pfn_list_corrupt". I looked it up and it seemed I had bad ram. I ran a memtest and got an error. I took out the new ram and ran memtest again on my old ram with no errors at 115%. Then did memtest again with old ram removed and new ram installed (4gb) and so far no errors at 150%.

On the outside of my first ram, the sticker read: 4-4-4 @ 2.1v
The second (new) ram read: 4-4-4 @ 2.2v

Is it wrong? Do they both have to be at 2.1v?

Here's a list of what was in my BIOS.
Memory [AUTO] 1.850v

Memory timing setting
xtCL (CAS Latency) Auto(5) Current Value 5
xtRCD Auto(5) 5
xtRP Auto(5) 5
xtRAS (18) 18
xCommand per clock (2T) 2T

FSB Memory Clock Mode [Auto]