Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

PC won't boot after new memory installed

This is a discussion on PC won't boot after new memory installed within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. This is my first post. I've got a very strange problem. I have a 4 year old custom built PC


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-05-2007, 06:41 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 10
OS:



This is my first post. I've got a very strange problem.

I have a 4 year old custom built PC utilizing an Intel P4 2.53 processor on a MSI 845PE Max motherboard. I had previously upgraded the ram from the original 512MB to 1 GB, by adding an additional stick of Kingston DDR333 RAM. It has been working fine.

I am trying to upgrade to 2 GB, to accommodate Photoshop CS3's insatiable appetite for memory . I bought 2 sticks of Kingston DDR333 1GB ram. So here's the problem. The PC will only boot if I keep the original stick of no name 512 in the first slot. I can put whatever I want in the second slot.

The weird thing is, at first it would power on, but nothing would happen. Now it won't even power up with the new RAM in the first slot.

So I now have it upgraded to 1.5 GB, which is barely adequate. Before I try to return the other stick to Newegg, I thought I'd ask here for any suggestions.

Any help you guys may have is much appreciated.

-Rosco
Roscot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-06-2007, 07:56 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5,538
OS: Windows 7 pro 64 bit

My System


try memtest to see if the ram is bad,or just not compatible.
pharoah is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 02:09 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 10
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by pharoah View Post
try memtest to see if the ram is bad,or just not compatible.
Thanks Pharoah, I'll give it a try.
Roscot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-07-2007, 03:15 AM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 7,075
OS: xp pro SP3

My System


Also
Clear the cmos.
And see if there is an updated bios available on the website.
speedster123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help needed with onboard video.
I have a mad prob. I'm in iraq, and my agp vid card to shrap from a mortar that landed outside my window and made it kaput. So i resorted back to the onboard video, but now I have no 3d capabilities. I.E. no games will play. And I can't dowload the drivers for the onboard. My MB is "acorp" wich no...
hellrogue Windows XP Support 48 07-14-2007 01:29 AM
Help me with my case please
Im looking to upgrade my PC and do some changes "out the box" to it as well. Last night I decided to buy a new video card since I recently broke my Nvidia x_x I went to Newegg and got myself this: Nvidia Geforce 7950GT Hopefully It will arive today or else monday >_< Now what Im really...
Kagerusui Cases and Cooling 43 05-08-2007 09:38 AM
What ram to get
Hello I am aiming to upgrade my computer. I have a windows xp SP2. My CPU is a Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.66GHz, My current ram or so it says is 224. I am wanting to go to 1 gig. I would like to know if i can do this and if i can. How do i know what to get. Do I want DDR or what I am really...
Frozencrow RAM and Power Supply Support 23 03-25-2007 05:00 AM
A whole bunch of scrambled programs/logs, what do they mean?!?
This summer my notebook's performance suddenly plummeted and I haven't been able to find a remedy ever since. The computer's resources just seem to be eaten up by something running in the background which causes the rest of my things to lag. If I reboot, I can listen to music, watch movies, browse...
ForeverYoung Windows XP Support 8 11-19-2006 02:38 PM
XP Home Restarting
I have an emachines T1100 that keeps restarting. It doesn't restart at the same time though. I turned off the automatic restart and got the blue screen but I don't know what to do next. The blue screen said: DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR EQUAL ...
algirard8 Windows XP Support 5 08-08-2006 11:22 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts