Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Noob RAM Questions

This is a discussion on Noob RAM Questions within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I tried posting earlier, but it didn't work, so if this post appears twice, sorry about that. Basically, I'm a

Closed Thread

Old 05-25-2007, 08:41 PM   #1

I tried posting earlier, but it didn't work, so if this post appears twice, sorry about that. Basically, I'm a noob with computers. I just got a Dell Inspiron 1501 with Windows Vista Basic Home Edition.

1. I read that to run Vista, 1GB of RAM is recommended. My computer is very slow when simply opening things like Control Panel and performing other basic tasks. I would like to upgrade my RAM to about 2GB or more. So... How do I find out what type of RAM I need and where is the best place to purchase it (preferably not online, but I can if recommended)?... Can a noob like me install it myself and if so, where can I find a How-To-Guide?... If I can't, where should I take my computer? About what can I expect to spend on an additional 2GB of RAM and what do you recommend I go with?

I would like to just get a full 2GB more RAM installed. I really don't know much so I apologize if I have a lot of questions, and also for asking for a bit of a walkthrough with the information provided and simplified terms. Also, I realize that some of these questions can't be answered until I give other information, so I will try and provide what you need as asked.

Sorry to make this so long, and thanks a lot for any help given.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-26-2007, 05:01 AM   #2

Hi Jiller,

Firstly the recomended ammount of ram to run for Windows Vista is 256MB of RAM. If its slow with you 1GB there could be something wrong with your system. So i recommend Running and posting a HighJack This Log, Its on the TFS Site just click here for that.