Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

New PSU, "power fan abnormal"

This is a discussion on New PSU, "power fan abnormal" within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey, I just switched out my 295W PSU with a new 450W one... and when I booted up I got


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-28-2008, 05:02 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
liquidice327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 97
OS: Mac OSX Yosemite, Windows 7, 10.


Send a message via AIM to liquidice327

Hey, I just switched out my 295W PSU with a new 450W one... and when I booted up I got a notice in the BIOS saying "power fan abnormal". Now In my PC I have a side fan and a CPU fan.. but my BIOS lists this "Power Fan" as well. What is a Power Fan, and am I ok?

I opened up my pc and put a office fan on the side of it just in case... rith now my temps are 30-35C for CPU and 26C for the case.

Any comments are appreciated. Thanks.

I should note that before I put the desk fan on the side it was posting 40-43C for the CPU.. the case temp was 29-30C. ...I'm not sure of what they were before I changed PSUs.'
I'm running a Sony Vaio pcv-rs 320.
liquidice327 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-28-2008, 05:07 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 7,329
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

My System


Dont worry abut it only server psu have temp(or fan sensors) that you can see from the computer
1 g0t 0wn3d is offline  
Old 04-28-2008, 06:15 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
liquidice327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 97
OS: Mac OSX Yosemite, Windows 7, 10.


Send a message via AIM to liquidice327

Thanks. :)

How were my temps? Should i get some more fans...?

When i take this desk fan off.. lol
liquidice327 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-28-2008, 07:36 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 7,329
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

My System


as long as they dont go over 55-60C you will be fine
1 g0t 0wn3d is offline  
Old 05-01-2008, 11:45 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
liquidice327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 97
OS: Mac OSX Yosemite, Windows 7, 10.


Send a message via AIM to liquidice327

btw... do you know how reliable an axpertec xion power supply is? i had it from a computer case i bought a while ago... that's what i put in.
liquidice327 is offline  
Old 05-01-2008, 03:46 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 7,329
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

My System


i would say it is bad quallity
1 g0t 0wn3d is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 01:29 PM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by liquidice327 View Post
Hey, I just switched out my 295W PSU with a new 450W one... I'm running a Sony Vaio pcv-rs 320.

Hi, I just found this forum and I have been trying to find a psu small enough but powerful enough for my ATI 1300, I know old news but it works still ya' know. Anyway, I really would like to know what PSU you made fit and where you found it. Is it a micro atx or a mini or did you mod your case. I have a pcv-rs560 and would like to really get it for what it is worth at this point. Thnaks in advance.
doub13 is offline  
Old 05-10-2008, 08:53 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
liquidice327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 97
OS: Mac OSX Yosemite, Windows 7, 10.


Send a message via AIM to liquidice327

i didn't mod my case... i ended up having to take the front panel off and the CD drives out just to put it in. but yeah it works.. its just a generic axpertec xion one that came with the case.. i do warn that it doesn't fit nicely.. its only screwed in with 2 screws.. pretty secure though.
liquidice327 is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 08:20 AM   #9
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
OS:



Cool thanks man, I have seen some mods to the case that the Sony came in but I haven't got the time to do some of the things I have read about to make it work. That seems like a quick fix to a very annoying problem. Here is one i saw: https://www.hardwareanalysis.com/cont...pic/33227/?l=1 :that seemed really cool too.
doub13 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts