Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

New Power Supply

This is a discussion on New Power Supply within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm going to buy a new power supply for this computer. https://reviews.cnet.com/desktops/gat...-32976273.html I am hoping for at 450-550 or so


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-23-2008, 02:50 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 25
OS:



I'm going to buy a new power supply for this computer.
https://reviews.cnet.com/desktops/gat...-32976273.html
I am hoping for at 450-550 or so watts.
I don't want to pay alot but I want it to be high quality so nothing breaks. Any ideas?
edk128 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-23-2008, 03:35 PM   #2
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 25
OS:



Actually I would want one over 500 watts.
edk128 is offline  
Old 06-23-2008, 04:00 PM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 25
OS:



I found three good ones in the forum.
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817703009
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153036
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817341002

Which has more cables? I want to make sure I have enough for this system and a high performance graphics card that could take two available 6-pin PCI Express power dongles.
https://reviews.cnet.com/desktops/gat...-32976273.html
Please help, I am not good with this kind of thing and I do not want to ruin my system or shorten it's lifespan.
edk128 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-23-2008, 04:58 PM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 25
OS:



I have narrowed it down to these two. After rebate they cost the same. I am basically wondering which one will have higher quality and will fit in my case.
This is my computer https://reviews.cnet.com/desktops/gat...-32976273.html

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817703009
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...817153036#spec
edk128 is offline  
Old 06-23-2008, 05:03 PM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 25
OS:



I have narrowed it down to these two. After rebate they cost the same. I am basically wondering which one will have higher quality and will fit in my case.
This is my computer https://reviews.cnet.com/desktops/gat...-32976273.html

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817703009
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...817153036#spec
edk128 is offline  
Old 06-23-2008, 05:04 PM   #6
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



the 550 is sufficient for what you have
the 650w allows for video upgrade
or any of the ones you selected the first is the top draw of them all
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...corsair%2b550w
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...corsair%2b650w



dai is offline  
Old 06-23-2008, 05:27 PM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 25
OS:



They only have like 12 amps. The video card I am looking at requires 26.
https://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...RqCjCVRqCjCVRq

Will this fit in my case?
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...817153036#spec This one said t12 amps.
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...817703009#spec This one is cheaper but it has 60 amps or so.

How does that work?

This is my case
https://reviews.cnet.com/desktops/gat...-32976273.html

Also thanks for the help. These forums are the bomb.
edk128 is offline  
Old 06-23-2008, 05:42 PM   #8
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



[email protected]
[email protected]
with multiple 12v+ lines you add them together 4x18=72
this will make available between 48-54amps for use
the pc power and cooling is a single rail the same as the corsair and is the better option



dai is offline  
Old 06-23-2008, 06:01 PM   #9
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 25
OS:



Will this work with most new video cards? Does it have measurements so I can see if it will fit? If it isnt the exact same size what do I have to do?
edk128 is offline  
Old 06-23-2008, 06:57 PM   #10
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 25
OS:



Bump.
edk128 is offline  
Old 06-23-2008, 08:31 PM   #11
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



atx are standard size in height and width the depth varies
it will cover up to the gx2 which devour power



dai is offline  
Old 06-23-2008, 09:03 PM   #12
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 25
OS:



Thank you kind sir.
edk128 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts