Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

New Memory problem

This is a discussion on New Memory problem within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi , I have a Dell Dimension 9100 XP sp2. 2x 512k Samsung RAM. Until recently very reliable machine. Earlier


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-29-2008, 11:31 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sydney OZ
Posts: 154
OS: Win98SE/XP SP2 Home



Hi ,

I have a Dell Dimension 9100 XP sp2. 2x 512k Samsung RAM. Until recently very reliable machine. Earlier this week suddenly one stick of RAM stopped working for no apparent reason but once I reseated it, it worked fine again.... this may or may not be relevant to my problem.

Since then I tried to upgrade my RAM by adding 2X Corsair VS1GB667D2 1GB PC-5300 (667MHz) DDR2 RAM, sticks. I replaced the old RAM with these. ie in slots 1 & 2 then placed the old RAM in slots 3 & 4.

Variously this caused the computer to beep and not boot at all, to boot far enough for me to get into BIOS and read that ALL the RAM was installed, and once even a hint of Windows before BSOD.

I removed the old RAM and managed to boot into windows more reliabley (after a couple of goes) but the system was very unstable with BSOD crashing the computer before windows laoded all startup programs and then sometimes all was good (and quick too) but then it unpredicatably would throw up BSOD in the middle of work!... I can't work like this so I have gone back to my original RAM config. New RAM sitting in a box, but at least I can work reliably without BSOD eating up my work.

I would love to be able to use ALL 3gb of RAM but would be happy to discard the old RAM and just run the new 2GBs. Is there any hope!?

Thanks in advance

Dinsdale
_dinsdale_ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-29-2008, 11:55 PM   #2
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



try the ram in slots 1 and 3 and 2 and 4



dai is offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 06:18 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sydney OZ
Posts: 154
OS: Win98SE/XP SP2 Home



Thanks Dai but didn;t seem to make any difference

dins
_dinsdale_ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-05-2008, 08:11 PM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



just put one of the new sticks in the slot closest to the cpu
reset the cmos
turn the computer off
remove the power lead from the back
take the side off
remove the cmos battery
move the cmos jumper from pins 1 and 2 to pin 2 and 3 and the back to pins 1 and 2
replace the battery
put the side on
replug in the power lead
boot the computer
and see if it boots ok
if it does then add the second stick
check the voltage range for the new ram you may need to ajust it in the bios as the
m/b may default to the wrong voltage



dai is offline  
Old 06-09-2008, 05:01 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sydney OZ
Posts: 154
OS: Win98SE/XP SP2 Home



Thanks dai,

Will give this a go but will need a couple of days to safely finish some work before I risk this.

dins
_dinsdale_ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts