Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

New Build, Major Video/USB issues. Please Help!

This is a discussion on New Build, Major Video/USB issues. Please Help! within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Argh! This is getting frustrating! I appreciate any help you wise folks can bestow on me. I was recently conscripted


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-16-2009, 04:52 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 9
OS: Windows 7



Argh! This is getting frustrating! I appreciate any help you wise folks can bestow on me.

I was recently conscripted to build a 2,000 budget computer. Here's what I got:

Gigabyte EX58 Motherboard
i7 920 1.66Ghz Processor
2x Nvidia GeForce 9800 GTX 512mb Video Cards
6Gb Corsair DDR3 in RAM
1Tb Samsung HDD
Rosewill 850watt PSU
Plus a changed out CPU cooler (Contact freezer), a HDD cooler, and the DvD/BluRay drive's going on.
22" Acer X223w LCD monitor

The issue at hand?

The computer doesn't start up- entirely.
When power is turned to on, everything lights up, fans spin, HDD hums and clicks, the RAM lights come on, VGA fans kick to full speed, and everything looks awesome until you look at the monitor, which sits with a yellow light (idle). Checking the Mouse/Keyboard also shows that they aren't receiving any power and this could be the USBs, I don't have anything else to test them with though.

What's going on? I've done a crap load of stuff to check and see what's wrong, and I'm still stumped! I've...

-Removed/replaced VGA's
-Reset CMOS (both by reset short and battery removal)
-Removed and checked all wire connections and PSU hookups.
-Tested Monitor and VGAs on another computer (all work)
-Checked Ram
-Removed all ram but 1 stick
-Tried using the monitors AVI IN and DVI IN hookups
-Swapped around the VGAs positions, tried with only one at a time, changing the PCI-E slots up.
-Checked for shorts (IE lodged screws and such)

I can't figure out whats up. Obviously something is wrong, I don't think it's my connections, PSU, or CPU. Anyone able to enlighten me?


Note* I did have some funky weather from the PSU, it would start for a few seconds then shut down about twice, and had it just shut down once after a short period of being on (a second or two). However this seems to have stopped and I think was due to a loose PSU cord.


Thanks in advance.
Eichenkatze is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-16-2009, 06:10 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 25,111
OS: XP Professional



Those of us in the business do this to build a computer:

Bench Test Your System
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Old 06-16-2009, 06:24 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 9
OS: Windows 7



An interesting read, but nothing I didn't already know.

I actually use the mobo box as well to mount the system. It's just not working. I need troubleshooting advice as far as others' personal knowledge.

I'm pretty sure it's either the Motherboard or the processor.

Thank you though, didn't solve the issue.
Eichenkatze is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-16-2009, 06:54 AM   #4
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



My first suspicion is the Rosewill PSU.
IF you have done the out of case build according to the instructions you're at the point where you have to substitute parts.



Tyree is offline  
Old 06-16-2009, 07:12 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 9
OS: Windows 7



Substitute parts? Not that I can see, really. There's plenty of adapters to go around and nothing is left unplugged on the mobo but a few unused PWR_FAN and LED_SYS connectors. Unless i'm misunderstanding you here.

But, I cleaned off the coolant paste from the CPU as it was a bit messy and am thinking about putting a new batch on. Cleaned the CPU in a sterile setup with rubbing alcohol and a specific brand of Q-tips which don't shred and are more like foam to absorb and wipe.

The PSU seems to do fine though, everything powers up but the USB ports, and the cards switch on when the PC goes on.
Eichenkatze is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 02:07 PM   #6
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,058
OS: Win7



Check it with a volt meter or swap another PSU in. Being a Rosewill it's the first place I'd start unless you'd rather substitute in another MB first.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 06-19-2009, 10:34 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 9
OS: Windows 7



Hey, thanks for the replies!

I ended up sending in the motherboard. I looked through reviews online and found a few other people had a similar problem with the motherboard. So I contacted newegg and they offered to replace it. I will have to poke in again for the PSU if the new mobo doesn't work. /crossfingers

This is frustrating, lol.

Are Rosewill PSU's that bad? The reviews looked fairly solid.
Eichenkatze is offline  
Old 06-19-2009, 11:13 AM   #8
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,058
OS: Win7



They're that bad. Either DOA or run a year or so and then go.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 06-19-2009, 01:41 PM   #9
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



I would SERIOUSLY consider returning the Rosewill PSU for a refund and putting the money toward a quality PSU.



Tyree is offline  
Old 06-22-2009, 01:30 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 9
OS: Windows 7



Any suggestions on a type of processor? I had never dealt with Rosewill before, I assumed they were a decent brand as the ratings were around 4 stars, though makes sense why it came in a combo.

I'm not all that "up-to-speed" on PSU's, processors, VGA's, and sound systems I can do. PSU suggestions, anyone? :D Preferably a similar wattage (we are running a hefty system here) and close price.

Thanks for the help guys!
Eichenkatze is offline  
Old 06-22-2009, 02:08 PM   #11
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,058
OS: Win7



Type of processor or PSU?
I would use the 850TX for a PSU> https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139009
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 06-22-2009, 02:08 PM   #12
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,058
OS: Win7



Type of processor or PSU?
I would use the 850TX for a PSU> https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139009
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 06-23-2009, 03:37 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 9
OS: Windows 7



Err the PSU, sorry I've been trying to confuse my "PSU" acronym with "CPU", don't know why...

But the Corsair, usually a good choice. The Rosewill came in a combo with the graphics cards I think- Or at least one of them, only reason I picked it up. I figured it would work fine but I guess not haha.

I got Newegg to take back both the items (motherboard and PSU), they offered to test the mobo and send it back if it worked or replace it if it didn't. As for the PSU, i battled an agent for a refund (as it was only an RMA item) Whoop!

I do like the Corsair, I'll put it to the list and look around some, but I don't see how I could go wrong with Corsair.
Eichenkatze is offline  
Old 06-23-2009, 10:57 AM   #14
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,058
OS: Win7



They are hard to beat in quality and cost, quiet and cool running.
Wrench97 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts