Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Need info on the "ON" switch PC circuitry

This is a discussion on Need info on the "ON" switch PC circuitry within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a used PC power supply. I want to set it up to use as a bench top supply.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-11-2008, 08:31 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
OS:


Question

I have a used PC power supply. I want to set it up to use as a bench top supply. I have figured out all the plug wire voltages, etc.

But, I need to know how the PC "ON' switch tells the PSU to turn on.

On the PSU circuit board, there are these leads which I do not know the use. Although I can probably guess on some of them.

AC-DET PWRON MBAT FANOFF FAN(something--covered up, but with pink wire)

What are each of these for?

How do I wire up a switch to turn on the PSU? Should it be a momentary switch or on-off switch? If momentary, how do I shut the PSU off--once on?

I understand I must provide a load for the PSU to work. One person suggested putting it on the +5V side. How much load is needed? Would a small bulb for a Power On indicator be enough?

Any help is appreciated. Bob
OhioBob33 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-11-2008, 06:35 PM   #2
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Doby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central PA (USA)
Posts: 9,471
OS: XP sp3/ Vista sp2/windows7

My System


I am not real sure what your intentions are for this psu but the motherboard tells the psu to turn on when you press the power button or by touching the pins the case switch connect to with a screw driver.

If you are trying to turn the psu on for other purposes then powering a motherboard the green wire on the 20/24 pin connector will start the psu when connected to a ground such as a black wire, a switch in between would have to be a on/off switch.

I have had success making a psu produce the proper voltages with a case fan or hard rive plugged into them for load
Doby is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 12:09 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
OS:



Whoops. I just read some other threads. This is a Compaq PSU. It doesn't have the 20/24 pin connector. It has a 16 pin and a 4 pin connectors. Seems to be proprietory with non-standard color coding and pinouts.

Green wire won't work--as pcb has it marked as 3.3VAUX.

There is a white wire that pcb has marked as PWRON. I am suspecting that is the one I should use. But I wonder if Compaq uses the same "switch to ground" for start up.

Guess I need to find a pin out for this psu (Part # 386316-001 with Spare # 101881-001). It is only a 156W PSU I picked up for $5 at a surplus place.

I am trying to set up a bench for repair of LCD monitors. Need power to check exciter boards etc. without putting the whole monitor back together. I am also working on building an ESR tester for those darned electrolytics.

Thanks, any more suggestions?

Bob
OhioBob33 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts