Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Need help installing new RAM! clueless.

This is a discussion on Need help installing new RAM! clueless. within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey guys I decided I want to upgrade my RAM in my G74SX series gaming laptop (intel core i7-2670QM @2.2ghz)


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-26-2014, 08:57 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
OS: windows 7 home premium



Hey guys

I decided I want to upgrade my RAM in my G74SX series gaming laptop (intel core i7-2670QM @2.2ghz) running windows 7 home premium.

Ive currently just got the 8 GB of RAM it came with and just need some advice on whats compatible? My laptop has 4 slots and only slots 3 and 4 have RAM in them. 1 and 2 are empty.

The current RAM is this...



Does the other 8GB of RAM I add need to be the same? I found this on ebay... https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/8GB-DDR3-...item5644ec4397

will that work if I put it in the 2 additional slots?

Also what do the numbers "9-11-f3" on each refer to?

Thanks in advance,
Jesse.
jesspatt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-26-2014, 09:09 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,779
OS: W7 Home Premium 64 Bit

My System


Your current Ram isn't showing
The new Ram will have to have the identical specifications for it to work efficiently, using "low density" Ram is not recommended for gaming laptops.
Your laptop will take up to 16Gb of DDR3 1333 (10600)

The numbers you listed are Ram timings, they are on this example found on eBay:
Hynix 4GB 2RX8 PC3 10600s DDR3 1333MHz SO DIMM Memory RAM HMT351S6CFR8C H9 | eBay
Panther063 is offline  
Old 05-26-2014, 09:41 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
OS: windows 7 home premium



cool thanks. so if i do get that ram i linked it will work?
jesspatt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-26-2014, 09:45 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,779
OS: W7 Home Premium 64 Bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by jesspatt View Post
cool thanks. so if i do get that ram i linked it will work?
They should work, there is no mention of the Ram timings in that listing and all 16Gb will function at the rate of the slowest timings.
As I mentioned previously, Low density ram isn't recommended and you are better off spending a bit more for a known brand.
Panther063 is offline  
Old 05-26-2014, 11:50 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
OS: windows 7 home premium



thanks for help. whats the difference between high and low density? why is it reccommended? what are possible complications of getting brands that are not known as well? I already have two different brand in there, one is samsung and one is hynix. same specs. also is there a big difference between 1600mhz and 1333? surely it would still be a significant improvement ?
jesspatt is offline  
Old 05-27-2014, 12:26 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,779
OS: W7 Home Premium 64 Bit

My System


If you already have 8Gb of Ram, you probably wont see an improvement.
I would discourage buying cheap no name brands of Ram due to lesser quality components being used.
High Density Ram is usually used in Servers, while Low Density is more common in every day computers and laptops.
Panther063 is offline  
Old 05-27-2014, 05:54 AM   #7
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Mixing RAM brands/specs commonly cause problems.
As noted above, 8GB is more than plenty. Crucial brand is the best brand choice for OEM Mobo's to avoid problems.



Tyree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing RAM
I purchased 2x1gb of RAM These items are listed as being compatible with my PC. I checked the intel specifications for my board and purchased the correct RAM also listed on the supplier website as being compatible with my board. I followed all the intructions however when I go to boot the PC it...
breyno2 RAM and Power Supply Support 4 10-14-2012 10:06 AM
Computer won't start after installing compatible ram
I'm running windows 7 professional 32 bit with SP1. I have not installed any updates (win 7 SP1 was just recently re-installed a few days ago). I know my mobo is intel but I am not sure of the make and/or model, processor is an intel pentium dual cpu E2180 @ 2.00 ghz I had 3gbs of pc2-5300...
bedbuggsmom RAM and Power Supply Support 7 10-11-2012 06:13 AM
Computer won't boot after installing new RAM cards
Hello everyone. I am dealing with a bit of a dinosaur of a computer, one that has an IBM 627661Y motherboard, and uses an Intel Pentium IIIE, 1000 Mhz (7.5 x 133) ... The total RAM memory in the two cards filling the two (only two) slots, is something like 389 MB. Not sure of the exact...
haskellbob RAM and Power Supply Support 2 11-17-2011 03:51 PM
Computer wont start after installing more RAM!
Hi people, I'm new to the forum but I'm sure ill be making good use of it with the pickle ive just gotten myself into! I just bought another 1GB of RAM for my compaq presario SR1937. I've been running on 1GB of RAM ever since the second original piece went bust. I've just tried to install the...
snowy88 RAM and Power Supply Support 3 07-22-2011 04:09 PM
Installing Ram
Hi, I'm having a bit of a problem installing ram on my new laptop (Toshiba), this is my first time installing ram so I don't really know how to go about it. The ram came free with the laptop, it had 4gb originally and 2gb came free I've looked at the guide on this website but can't find out how to...
Frenzy124 RAM and Power Supply Support 3 07-09-2011 07:29 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts