Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Need help identifying problem with PC

This is a discussion on Need help identifying problem with PC within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I was on my PC last night when suddenly my screen went blank as in it couldn't detect my


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-14-2019, 12:00 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 149
OS: XP



Hello, I was on my PC last night when suddenly my screen went blank as in it couldn't detect my PC. The PC power was still on but my monitor light was blinking. Confused, I tried to turn of my PC via power button but it didn't switch off. Finally turned it off at the plug point. Turned on my PC again, no display but my PC turned on. Turned it all off and went to bed. Today, my PC doesn't turn on at all. My monitor is working fine since I use it for my PS4 as well.

I'm guessing the issue it the power supply but no way to know for sure. How do I tell what the issue is? Also, if it is the power supply, what information do I need to have at the shop when buying one e.g. Motherboard, RAM, etc.?

Thank you.
Aesthete18 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-14-2019, 09:54 AM   #2
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,013
OS: Win7



What brand and model is the PC?
Do you see any lights or hear any beeps?
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 11-15-2019, 01:42 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 149
OS: XP



Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrench97 View Post
What brand and model is the PC?
Do you see any lights or hear any beeps?
It an old pc I dot think I have the boxes anymore. AMD motherboard APU-3500 or something like that. No beeps and sounds, I started removing the power supply to try the paper clip test I found online but I might have damaged my pc further 🤦*♂️ These cables were wrapped around the power supply so I pulled them out. I think I may have broken the green one. It's the on/off, reset, etc. cables. Am I screwed here?
Aesthete18 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-15-2019, 03:04 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 149
OS: XP



Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrench97 View Post
What brand and model is the PC?
Do you see any lights or hear any beeps?
Sorry couldn't find the edit comment tool to add.

Looks like the green wire is broken. It's the power LED (+) wire. I'm guessing that's just the lights. I tried sticking the wire back into the connector but it's too loose. Is there no fix?

Also update on the power supply. I tried the paper clip test, if I'm doing it right, there's no power coming through. Tried it a few times, clip in green wire slot and black wire slot. Also tried using a different wall plug point. Fan doesn't turn on on PSU.
Aesthete18 is offline  
Old 11-15-2019, 03:12 PM   #5
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,013
OS: Win7



Post some pictures of the broken wire/connectors.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 11-17-2019, 05:00 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 149
OS: XP



Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrench97 View Post
Post some pictures of the broken wire/connectors.
I found the manual online for the F Panel connectors and got a new PSU. I think I've sorted that out. Problem is my PC is starting but not showing anything on display

What I've done so far:

- tried paper clip test with old PSU. No power.
- new PSU working fine on PC. Motherboard fan on, CD player working.
- monitor working fine. Cables detected on screen also checked backup cable. But no display when PC is on.
- F Panel connectors all except LED light for power (the broken one). Power working fine, can't verify reset button.
- connected 4 cables from PSU. Motherboard (pic A), hard disk - labeled SATA (pic b), 24 pin motherboard long connector (pic C) and CD-ROM (no pic).


I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. My motherboard is Gigabyte A75M-S2V.

Please advice. Thank you.

Picture A:


Picture B:


Picture C:
Aesthete18 is offline  
Old 11-17-2019, 02:13 PM   #7
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,013
OS: Win7



And you still have told us what components you have installed.
Do you have a video card?
If you do uninstall it and us the integrated video if your motherboard has that.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 11-17-2019, 11:05 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 149
OS: XP



Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrench97 View Post
And you still have told us what components you have installed.
Do you have a video card?
If you do uninstall it and us the integrated video if your motherboard has that.
This is all the info about my PC I have

Kingston 4GB PC10600 DDR3 1333
AMD ATHLON II A6-3500 Triple Core APU 2.1GHz Processor
Gigabyte A75M-S2V Motherboard
Trend Sonic TSCS130-BB 450W ATX Casing
Western Digital 500GB 7200RPM 16MB 3.5inch SATA6.0 Caviar Blue HDD
Logiech MK100 Classic Desktop
Samsung 22x SH222 SATA DVDRW Drive
This should be accurate except the hard disk, I've replaced it also with a 500gb possibly Western Digital as well. I'm using Windows 10.

My monitor is an LG Flatron E2341. It's connected via DVI white cable. The old PSU is a Trendsonic T-450 ATX. The new one is the same but refurbished model.

I don't have a graphic card. The integrated graphic is HD Radeon 6530D.
Aesthete18 is offline  
Old 11-18-2019, 02:38 PM   #9
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,013
OS: Win7



Try clearing the CMOS by connecting the 2 CMOS pins on your motherboard.
Unplug the PC first, locate the 2 pins and touch both with the blade of a small screwdriver.
Link to your motherboard manual > https://download1.gigabyte.com/Files...a75m-s2v_e.pdf

Click image for larger version

Name:	clr_Cmos.JPG
Views:	6
Size:	73.5 KB
ID:	324730
Wrench97 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts