Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Need Help Finding Pin# of RAM

This is a discussion on Need Help Finding Pin# of RAM within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I purchased a used laptop recently to just mess around with but I'm having trouble finding the pin of ram


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-05-2009, 08:47 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
OS: Windows Vista Basic



I purchased a used laptop recently to just mess around with but I'm having trouble finding the pin of ram it has... It is a Hasee M152s. It only has 248mb of ddr ram so you can see whay I need an upgrade. i've tried alot of system scanners and memory sites but none of them have ever heard of a Hasee. Most Support sites ar in japenese and when translated make little to no sense. If any one could tell me by the markings on the ram already in it how to tell what Pin of Ram it has it would be greatly appreciated.
swaf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-05-2009, 08:49 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,258
OS: XP, Win 7



and welcome to the Forum

Try the scanner at www.crucial.com
Old Rich is offline  
Old 09-05-2009, 09:02 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 247
OS: W7 Ultimate x64

My System


I believe DDR and DDR2 RAM in laptops are both 200pin.
Dacads is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-05-2009, 09:15 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
TheShadowFl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 301
OS: XP-SP3, Win-7-Ultimate/32


Cool

That may well be, but the two are definitely NOT interchangeable.

The number of pins is really immaterial..........what's important is the type, whether DDR or DDR2 and the speed.

Also, it's important to know how much ram that PC will take.

You might just want to take the PC to a repair shop, where they can determine the type of ram needed and maybe try to find a compatible stick of ram that would work in that PC, without you having to buy the ram till you know it works in that PC.

I have an older laptop myself, that's very picky about what ram it will accept.
I took my laptop to a professional ram dealer and he tried several sticks of ram from different vendors before he finally found one that would work reliably.

Good Luck,
Shadow
TheShadowFl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts