User Tag List

Need Help

This is a discussion on Need Help within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello I am having issues with my PC. it has been a ongoing issue. I have had people come and


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-15-2011, 11:04 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
elboogie2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 12
OS: windows vista



Hello
I am having issues with my PC. it has been a ongoing issue. I have had people come and look at it and no one seems to know whats causing the problems. One company that eval my pc said i had viruses and tried to sabotage my comp so that they could charge me 300.00 ollars to fix it. well long story short i am a digital artist and animator so i use 3dsmax, photoshop, after effects, illustrator and other programs.
What seems to be happening is i will be working and in the middle of me working the comp will freeze to a blue screen doing a virtual dump. This issue is messing up my money because these reboots i have to do stops my progress drastically could any one help me with this issue.

thank you
elboogie2008 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-16-2011, 03:36 AM   #2
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: England, UK
Posts: 4,527
OS: Windows 7 x86 SP1



We need to know what info is shown on the BSOD & in the dumped files.
pip22 is offline  
Old 02-16-2011, 04:18 AM   #3
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 15,298
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


It would also help to know the specs of the PC.

MB-CPU-RAM-GPU-PSU brand/wattage
makinu1der2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-16-2011, 05:53 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
elboogie2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 12
OS: windows vista



ok guys thanks how would i be able to get this info. i hate to say it but im a software guy.. i am just now getting onto hard ware and this comp was built for me.
elboogie2008 is offline  
Old 02-16-2011, 06:07 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
elboogie2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 12
OS: windows vista



i have a amd athlon(tm) 64 x2 dual core processor 4200+ 2.20 GHz
ram- 4031 mb
64 bit operating system
ATI Radeon HD 5700 series
elboogie2008 is offline  
Old 02-16-2011, 09:36 AM   #6
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 15,298
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Open the case and post the make/model of the PSU

Boot into the System Setup Menu and post the temp and voltage readings.

Download Memtest and burn to a disc. Test the RAM individually for several passes

Run the hard drive manufacturer diagnostics on the drive.

Hard Drive Utilities

You may wish to upload the dump files for sosmeone to look at.

https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...ta-452654.html
makinu1der2 is offline  
Old 02-16-2011, 09:49 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
elboogie2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 12
OS: windows vista



ummm i know i might sound a little lost but i really am not knowledgable about this stuff...sorry where would i find the psu? does this help
temp 45 c
FSB - 200 MHZ
CPU CLOCK - 2200 MHZ
elboogie2008 is offline  
Old 02-16-2011, 09:51 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
elboogie2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 12
OS: windows vista



Ummm sorry but what is it should i do with the mem test?
elboogie2008 is offline  
Old 02-16-2011, 10:06 AM   #9
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 15,298
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


To see the PSU (Power Supply Unit) yuou will need to open the case.

There will be a label on the side that has all the info.

You will need to download the Memtest Bootable .ISO file

You will then need to burn the file to a disc (you can use ImgBurn )

The Official ImgBurn Website

Once you have the disc created boot to it and let it run.
makinu1der2 is offline  
Old 02-16-2011, 10:29 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
elboogie2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 12
OS: windows vista


ohhh this is my motherboard also - msi k9n2 diamond ok i have it open now as we speak...

it says antec .. you need anymore info?

i dwnloaded the img mem test files and burned to a disc but it will not open am i doing something wrong?
elboogie2008 is offline  
Old 02-16-2011, 03:15 PM   #11
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 15,298
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Did you use the Imgburn to burn the disc?

You need to make sure that the cdrom is set to the first boot device.
makinu1der2 is offline  
Old 02-22-2011, 08:53 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
elboogie2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 12
OS: windows vista



@ makinu1der2 hey i tried i down loaded the software and tried to burn the img file and the software is saying it is a unsupported or not recognized file.
I really don't know what i am doing wrong here.

[IMG]file:///C:/Users/Render/AppData/Local/Temp/moz-screenshot-3.png[/IMG][IMG]file:///C:/Users/Render/AppData/Local/Temp/moz-screenshot-4.png[/IMG]
elboogie2008 is offline  
Old 02-23-2011, 01:16 AM   #13
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 15,298
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Which file are you downloading? Use this file

Once you have the file downloaded extract the file to a location (desktop is fine)

Once you have the .iso extracted open ImgBurn and select "write image file to disc"
makinu1der2 is offline  
Old 02-25-2011, 09:40 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
elboogie2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 12
OS: windows vista



hey i tried again did not work it says it is not a recognized iso file some thing is not working.. but through trial and error i do believe its the amount of ram i am using because i have started uv unwrapping and my machine freezes after 20 min of it.but do you have any other advice you can share?
elboogie2008 is offline  
Old 02-25-2011, 12:42 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
elboogie2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 12
OS: windows vista



ok i finally got it.. i feel so slow.. smh i am doing the memtest in a hour will be back with the results
elboogie2008 is offline  
Old 02-25-2011, 04:00 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
elboogie2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 12
OS: windows vista



these are the numbers from the mem test

temp readings - 45c
voltage readings - 200
cpu voltage - default 800v

mem test readings

mem test 86+
L1 cache: 64k 17187 mb/s
L2 cache: 512k 4296 mb/s
memory: 4031m 2985 mb/s
chipset: AMD k8 imc (ecc : disabled
settings: Ram:440 MHz
(DDR880) /CAS : 5-6-6-18 / DDR2 (128 BITS)
PASS :1
Test # 8
testing: 18k - 2048m 4031m
walltime - 2:23:56
cached - 4031m
RSVDMEM - 264k
MEMMAP - e820
Cache - on
ECC - off
Test- std
Pass - 1
errors - 0
elboogie2008 is offline  
Old 02-25-2011, 05:19 PM   #17
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 15,298
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


How long did you run the test?

See the instructions below and attach the dump files.

https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...ta-452654.html
makinu1der2 is offline  
Old 02-25-2011, 09:13 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
elboogie2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 12
OS: windows vista



i ran it for 2 and a half hours was i suppose to do it longerit said 100% and 1 pass and my comp isnt doing the virtual dump any more im not getting the blue screen.
elboogie2008 is offline  
Old 02-25-2011, 09:22 PM   #19
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 15,298
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


You should still be able to attach the previous dumps.

After viewing the dumps files may be able to help determine the root cause.
makinu1der2 is offline  
Old 02-25-2011, 09:34 PM   #20
Registered Member
 
elboogie2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 12
OS: windows vista



how do i get the previous dumps?
elboogie2008 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts