Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Need 16gb of DDr4

This is a discussion on Need 16gb of DDr4 within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi guys. I got a Asus z-170A mobo with a i5 6600k overclocked to 4500 mhz. Soon I will upgrade


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-15-2019, 08:46 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Romanov77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 300
OS: Windows 8.1 64 bit



Hi guys.

I got a Asus z-170A mobo with a i5 6600k overclocked to 4500 mhz.

Soon I will upgrade my old video-card to a new RTX and, meanwhile, I wanted to get a 16 gb RAM solution for my machine. Possibly gaming oriented.

What should I get?
Romanov77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-15-2019, 02:46 PM   #2
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,179
OS: win 10 Home



See the QVL list here https://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/...L_20160316.pdf
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 11-16-2019, 02:20 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Romanov77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 300
OS: Windows 8.1 64 bit



Didn't found this in the list, is it ok:

https://www.amazon.it/Corsair-Vengea...3899017&sr=8-1
Romanov77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-16-2019, 02:42 AM   #4
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,179
OS: win 10 Home



I cannot say it is or not but the list is long so why not try finding something that is on it, that way you have a better chance of things working as they should.
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 11-16-2019, 04:26 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Romanov77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 300
OS: Windows 8.1 64 bit



I found on amazon reviews that a guy has the z-170A so it should be fine.

What about the specs, is it good? How does it compare this one:
https://www.amazon.it/dp/B07MNJP6RW/...v_ov_lig_dp_it
Romanov77 is offline  
Old 11-16-2019, 08:32 AM   #6
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,179
OS: win 10 Home



Crucial have their own site and also have a tool to use for ram that should be suitable and they usually give a guarantee so in the event there was a issue they will rectify it or refund so if you are determined to go against the QVL you at least have some options. I still advise going with the QVL.
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts