Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

my power supply problem

This is a discussion on my power supply problem within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. hello. recently my computer's power supply died on me, so i ordered this power supply as a replacement. I got


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-02-2008, 12:26 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
OS:



hello. recently my computer's power supply died on me, so i ordered this power supply as a replacement. I got it today and I plugged in my hard drives and dvd drives, then the 20 pin connector, then i tried the 4 pin connector and the pattern on the new one doesn't match the female input on the motherboard. Do I need to get another power supply?

if it helps my computer is a compaq presario with a 2.13 GHz amd processor. 996mb(i believe, should be close to 1 gig) of ram, 1 80 gig hard drive, 1 180gig hard drive. then two dvd burners.

thanks in advance!
nosignal1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-02-2008, 12:55 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
manic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,741
OS: xp



What type of video card, is it onboard. Is there another 4 pin
connector that looks similar? I would not expect a whole lot from that
power supply...
The compaq may have had a proprietary power supply. You may have
to get the psu from compaq. Maybe there is a workaround, but Im not
famliar with that...
manic is offline  
Old 07-02-2008, 01:19 PM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
OS:



im not sure what type of video card i have in it. i havent added one, thats all i know about my video card, there isnt another connector like that one. I'll look on the compaq site. thank you
nosignal1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-02-2008, 02:47 PM   #4
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,056
OS: Win7



Did you match up the color of the wires on the plugs to make sure you the same number and color coding.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 07-02-2008, 03:01 PM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
OS:



i just went to a local computer shop and got another power supply and it works so I will be sending the one back that doesnt work.
nosignal1 is offline  
Old 07-02-2008, 06:30 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

newer compaqs from 2004 forward are standard ATX pin outs >>>> but its ALWAYS wise to compare "pinouts" and measurements there are alot of mini sized weird units floating around out there now ! I hate sending systems out the door with PSU's rivited to the outside of the case YUCK but if they dont want to spend $$$$$ then ugly is what you get
linderman is offline  
Old 07-02-2008, 08:54 PM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
manic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,741
OS: xp



or the ole zip tie and duct tape trick. Works every time.
I didnt know that after 2004 compaq went with standard psu's. Must
remember that, alot of people got sucked in, I mean bought compaqs.
Take care!
manic is offline  
Old 07-03-2008, 06:02 AM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

as suggested its always a smart move to compare the exisiting one with the specs of a new unit ! GOOD advice MANIC

there is getting to be an abundance of those "compressed" case systems showing up...... now those are nightmares!
linderman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts