Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

My Power Supply failed but...?

This is a discussion on My Power Supply failed but...? within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello. So I noticed there was a high-pitched noise coming from the PSU and would fade away after the PC


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-13-2008, 08:34 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 182
OS: Win7 Ultimate 64



Hello. So I noticed there was a high-pitched noise coming from the PSU and would fade away after the PC was on for a while. As I was working on my PC, suddenly it just shut down and I haven't been able to turn it back on ever since. So I am to understand that my PSU has failed and died but my question is... has any other component inside my PC case failed too? Thank you.... Cause I want to be sure if I can replace the PSU now or not.
c0ldpr0xy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-13-2008, 09:20 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 25,111
OS: XP Professional



Unfortunately, there is no way to tell for sure unless you try those components in another computer to test them. Bad PSU units do have a way sometimes of damaging other computer components when they go. Might be a good idea to just get a new power supply and give it a try to see if anything is gone. BTW, be sure you purchase a good brand name with enough wattage to do what you need done, so you won't have to do this again soon.

If you list your specs, one of us would be happy to assist you in purchasing something that will work for you.
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Old 12-19-2008, 03:15 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 182
OS: Win7 Ultimate 64



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tumbleweed36 View Post
Unfortunately, there is no way to tell for sure unless you try those components in another computer to test them. Bad PSU units do have a way sometimes of damaging other computer components when they go. Might be a good idea to just get a new power supply and give it a try to see if anything is gone. BTW, be sure you purchase a good brand name with enough wattage to do what you need done, so you won't have to do this again soon.

If you list your specs, one of us would be happy to assist you in purchasing something that will work for you.
Well first off thank you for replying and I apologize for being late, been kinda busy lately. Anyways, this is what it says on the PSU tag:

Code:
MODEL NO: FSP315-60PNA-E (PF)
AC Input: 220V-230V~, 4A, 50-60Hz
MAX Output Power: 315W
Do you need more information?
c0ldpr0xy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-19-2008, 03:19 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 25,111
OS: XP Professional



Tell us what the specs of the rest of your rig and then we can tell you what you need. Be sure to include the video card you are using.
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Old 12-19-2008, 05:10 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 182
OS: Win7 Ultimate 64



OK I am not really sure how exactly to check the specs of my PSU but my video card is ATI Radeon X600 Series 256MB.
c0ldpr0xy is offline  
Old 12-19-2008, 09:42 PM   #6
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



what are you running
video card
cpu
m/board
ram
power supply
brand
wattage

check the listings in the bios for voltages and temperatures and post them

this will give you what is in it

https://www.cpuid.com/pcwizard.php



dai is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 07:14 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 182
OS: Win7 Ultimate 64



OK:

ATI Radeon X600 (RV380 Pro) video card 256 MB DDR +TV-out
Name: ATI Radeon X600 Pro
Type: 2D/3D Video Card
Manufacturer Chipset: ATI

Motherboard:

Gigabyte GA-8I915PM
Sunshine (GA-8I915PM Ver 1.1)
Name: Sunshine (GA-8I915PM Ver 1.1)
Type: µATX motherboard
Manufacturer: Gigabyte

CPU:

Manufacturer Intel
Type Pentium 4 (Prescott, 90 nm)
Model SL7PY
Clock Speed 3.4 GHz
Front Bus Speed 800 MHz
Cache 1024 kB
Socket LGA 775
Stepping core E0
Maximum temperature 68°C
Maximum power dissipation 84 W
Supported features:
* Hyper Threading
* xD bit (enables hardware Data Execution Prevention in Windows XP with SP2)

RAM:

2X512MB DDR RAM (1GB)

PSU:

The brand is FSP Group Inc.
MODEL NO: FSP315-60PNA-E (PF)
AC Input: 220V-230V~, 4A, 50-60Hz
MAX Output Power: 315W

OK need anything else?
c0ldpr0xy is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 07:33 AM   #8
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



pcie you need to be up here
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...corsair%2b550w



dai is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 09:30 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 182
OS: Win7 Ultimate 64



Quote:
Originally Posted by dai View Post
Are you sure that's compatible with my PC? Well thanks anyways for you answer!

Edit: Oh btw, the power cord is american, I live in europe and I just need a compatible PSU, I dont care about brand/quality, just wanna get my PC up and running again safely. THank you again
c0ldpr0xy is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 10:00 AM   #10
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 25,111
OS: XP Professional



Quote:
Originally Posted by c0ldpr0xy View Post
I dont care about brand/quality.
Please rethink what you are saying here. Poor quality power supplies are what burns up your other computer components. It makes no sense to save ten buck buying a cheap power supply and then having to spend two hundred dollars replacing memory and motherboard....or even more.
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 10:48 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 182
OS: Win7 Ultimate 64



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tumbleweed36 View Post
Please rethink what you are saying here. Poor quality power supplies are what burns up your other computer components. It makes no sense to save ten buck buying a cheap power supply and then having to spend two hundred dollars replacing memory and motherboard....or even more.

OK well I just need a compatible PSU that will support my PC for running it again?
c0ldpr0xy is offline  
Old 12-21-2008, 09:20 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 182
OS: Win7 Ultimate 64



Well, can anyone help?
c0ldpr0xy is offline  
Old 12-21-2008, 09:49 AM   #13
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



post 8



dai is offline  
Old 12-21-2008, 10:29 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 182
OS: Win7 Ultimate 64



Quote:
Originally Posted by dai View Post
post 8
post 9

Tumbleweed36, I didn't come here for you to tell me that I need to rethink about buying good quality/brand PSU's... All I asked for is just a simple PSU that will support my PC again. Thank you but no thanks about the tip on reminding me about buying GOOD quality PSU's.
c0ldpr0xy is offline  
Old 12-21-2008, 12:16 PM   #15
TSF Enthusiast
 
magnethead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 4,486
OS: Win7 x64, Raspibian, OSX Yosemite x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to magnethead

enjoy paying for new components every 2 years.
magnethead is offline  
Old 12-21-2008, 12:32 PM   #16
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Deroche BC. Canada
Posts: 573
OS: XP Pro sp 3

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by c0ldpr0xy View Post
post 9

Tumbleweed36, I didn't come here for you to tell me that I need to rethink about buying good quality/brand PSU's... All I asked for is just a simple PSU that will support my PC again. Thank you but no thanks about the tip on reminding me about buying GOOD quality PSU's.
Then what did you come here for? ... You don't need these people... Just take your attitude and go purchase some junk. The people that have given you advice here are some of the best that you will find. Personally I have found that it pays to listen to them.
Net Jockey is offline  
Old 12-21-2008, 12:34 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 182
OS: Win7 Ultimate 64



Quote:
Originally Posted by Net Jockey View Post
Then what did you come here for? Just take your attitude and go purchase some junk... You don't need these people...The people that have given you advice here are some of the best that you will find. Personally I have found that pays to listen to them.

Tumbleweed gave me advice, not answer. I'm here looking for answers not advice... I dont need advice from people telling me what brand to buy or the quality of the product. All I asked was ANY compatible PSU for my PC! Even if I have to buy every 2 weeks, its my problem.
c0ldpr0xy is offline  
Old 12-21-2008, 03:39 PM   #18
TSF Enthusiast
 
magnethead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 4,486
OS: Win7 x64, Raspibian, OSX Yosemite x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to magnethead

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0ldpr0xy View Post
just wanna get my PC up and running again safely.
We are only here to give you advise. We are not buying components for you, however, be aware that we do not endorse certain brands and/or models due to known quality defects. You may choose to purchase a unit that we don't reccomend, but you have been warned that PSU's are known to take out entire systems (and/or cause sparks and/or trip breakers and/or cause fires) when they expire.
magnethead is offline  
Old 12-21-2008, 05:01 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 182
OS: Win7 Ultimate 64



Quote:
Originally Posted by magnethead View Post
We are only here to give you advise. We are not buying components for you, however, be aware that we do not endorse certain brands and/or models due to known quality defects. You may choose to purchase a unit that we don't reccomend, but you have been warned that PSU's are known to take out entire systems (and/or cause sparks and/or trip breakers and/or cause fires) when they expire.

I never said I wanted you to buy me components... All I need is some basic info about a mediocre PSU that will support my PC. That is, when I walk into a PC store, I tell them that information you provide and I'll just choose the top model. Thus, I'm not ordering online that is why I need info so I can buy it here locally. Thank you again.
c0ldpr0xy is offline  
Old 12-22-2008, 09:55 AM   #20
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 25,111
OS: XP Professional



Quote:
Originally Posted by c0ldpr0xy View Post
I never said I wanted you to buy me components... All I need is some basic info about a mediocre PSU that will support my PC. That is, when I walk into a PC store, I tell them that information you provide and I'll just choose the top model. Thus, I'm not ordering online that is why I need info so I can buy it here locally. Thank you again.
Just to clear up the issue. We don't actually want you to purchase something that is of low quality. We want you to purchase a quality supply that will work for you. I know quality supplies are higher priced, but we did not purposely mention any super-high priced units, just the normal price of a quality supply.

There was nothing written by me that was intended to offend you, but my comments were simply to help you. If you took this another way, I apologize for that. No offense intended.

Members of the Hardware Team simply do not recommend mediocre PSU units (as you requested above) on Tech Support Forum, because they can damage your other computer parts. We don't want you buying something that will burn out in a few weeks and then you have to purchase again for the same issue. I hope that clears up why we said what we did.

We hope you get the rig up and running and it works well for you. Good luck and again, accept our apology for any misunderstanding of what we were saying!
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts