Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Mixing RAM of different latencies???

This is a discussion on Mixing RAM of different latencies??? within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. hey guys, i had a quick question about mixing some ram i just bought on black friday with some ram


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-02-2008, 07:08 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: THE YAY
Posts: 34
OS: WINDOWS 7



hey guys,
i had a quick question about mixing some ram i just bought on black friday with some ram i bought a couple months back. I have 2GB of Crucial Ballistix Tracer and its latency is 5-5-5-15 2.2V. The new ram that I bought is 4GB of Corsair XMS2 which runs at 5-5-5-18 1.80V. Is it okay if I mix them??

p.s.
my motherboard is an MSI P7N Platinum 750i

Thanks
akashanksta is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-03-2008, 04:08 PM   #2
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,043
OS: Win7



On a 750I it may be tricky if your running the Crucial at 2.2v then I would so no because the Corsair is only rated to 1.8v. I would put it in and see if it runs ok just watch the ram voltage.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 12-04-2008, 02:01 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: THE YAY
Posts: 34
OS: WINDOWS 7



would anything happen to my hardware if I put it in because they would be running in two different channels
the crucial in one channel and the corsair in another
akashanksta is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-04-2008, 02:30 PM   #4
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,043
OS: Win7



No it won't hurt anything it just may not run correctly.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 12-07-2008, 04:30 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: THE YAY
Posts: 34
OS: WINDOWS 7



well i installed it and my ram score on vista went from a 5.0 to a 4.6 and then i updated and it went down to a 4.5. any ideas?

do u think if i took out my old ram and just ran on the new 4GB it would be higher?
akashanksta is offline  
Old 12-07-2008, 04:34 PM   #6
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,043
OS: Win7



The Vista score doesn't mean much. How does the pc run?
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 12-07-2008, 08:30 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: THE YAY
Posts: 34
OS: WINDOWS 7



it seems to run fine i dont know if it runs THAT much faster but it seemed faster on boot up. is there anything i can do to test the speed of my ram cuz i tried opening up many applications at once and it was pretty smooth so im assuming there was an improvement
akashanksta is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts