Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Memory Error Dell

This is a discussion on Memory Error Dell within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. If this is the wrong forum to post please move to the correct one. What have a system that is


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-19-2017, 03:15 PM   #1
AVB
TSF Enthusiast
 
AVB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Elora, Tennessee, USA
Posts: 727
OS: Win 7 Pro 64



If this is the wrong forum to post please move to the correct one.

What have a system that is nearly hanging with lost of files. Found one memory partially plugged in. Reseated the chip with the power off of course.

Still having problems with the Dell Optiplex 760. Ran their test software on the MB and I am getting error 2000-0123 and 2000-0142. So do I just to replace the memory chips or do I have a more serious problem.

Luckily this is one that I use as a workstation in my shop and have bulk of my file on the one in the office. Just a pain to walk back and forth 400' each way to do my billing and research.

AVB
AVB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-19-2017, 04:03 PM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,049
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Test one chip at a time.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 04-19-2017, 04:27 PM   #3
AVB
TSF Enthusiast
 
AVB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Elora, Tennessee, USA
Posts: 727
OS: Win 7 Pro 64



Quote:
Originally Posted by Corday View Post
Test one chip at a time.
Not knowing these newer boards are they still where they can run two dimms or single dimms? ( whatever they are using now) The setup is four of them on board.

I have been out of the computer repair business for a fair amount time.

I hate break down the only other system like it in case I damage another dimm my business would be on the shut down until I could an another system in.
AVB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-19-2017, 04:41 PM   #4
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,049
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


The old cautions still apply. Anti static strap and just hold RAM by its edges. I would blow out computer dust first. # of slots depends on MOBO.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 04-19-2017, 05:10 PM   #5
AVB
TSF Enthusiast
 
AVB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Elora, Tennessee, USA
Posts: 727
OS: Win 7 Pro 64



Thanks Corday. I found only need slot 1 to run the tests. I two in now and they are passing the tests when it finishes then put another one in slot 3 and retest. My luck it will the last one tested just like when you drop a piece toast with jelly as it always seems to hit the floor jelly side down.

Boy am I rusty at this but I did blow all the dust out first in case was an overheat problem. Already know I am going reinstall the operating system from the hidden partition. With that I may need help getting the windows updates working again as that a problem when I first got both systems.

Btw what is the least Win7 64bit will run on. The dimms in it are 2 gig a piece. If proves to be a dimm then I can either go down to Best Buy or order one.
AVB is offline  
Old 04-19-2017, 05:40 PM   #6
AVB
TSF Enthusiast
 
AVB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Elora, Tennessee, USA
Posts: 727
OS: Win 7 Pro 64



Also forgive for foolish questions for I rather look like fool then be one for not asking something I don't know and have things go South.
AVB is offline  
Old 04-20-2017, 05:47 AM   #7
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,049
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


2 to 4 gigs depending on your hardware.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 04-20-2017, 07:31 AM   #8
AVB
TSF Enthusiast
 
AVB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Elora, Tennessee, USA
Posts: 727
OS: Win 7 Pro 64



Tnx.

As expected it was the last one I tested of the 2 GB dimms. I put it in this morning, started the test, and went for a cup of coffee. The thing was giving an error alert when I got back.

I got 6 GB in it that works so I should be good on that front. But it also looks like I might have HD failure too. I wouldn't know until Windows gets through its thing.

Oh well....I might had a power spike. Several t-storms have pass through area in the last couple weeks. That surge should have taken of it but you never know for sure.

Anyway thanks for putting me back on the right path. I needed those cobwebs cleared.
AVB is offline  
Old 04-20-2017, 02:25 PM   #9
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,013
OS: Win7



You can test the hard drive with Seatools for DOS to eliminate any Windows issues.
> How to perform a Seagate's Seatools Test - Tech Support Forum

Providing it is a plain old platter drive and not a SSD or hybrid drive.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 04-20-2017, 03:13 PM   #10
AVB
TSF Enthusiast
 
AVB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Elora, Tennessee, USA
Posts: 727
OS: Win 7 Pro 64



Finally got through with Windows Start-up Repair of course failed after repairing disc. On second pass it says I lost one of the main operating system files. That bad memory scramble things very bad. Awaiting a recovery disc to reinstall the operating system. None on the HD for the Dell so its a clean install.

Oh well at least I found the root cause problem. Bad Dimm that cause a lost of a system file. No wonder it won't boot to Win 7 64bit now. Just boots and accepts password then hangs.

Now this time I will get some DVDs and make complete system back-up like I should already done. This is a big on my part as I know better than this just haven't done it as other legal matters were more pressing.
AVB is offline  
Old 04-20-2017, 03:49 PM   #11
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,013
OS: Win7



A dimm error should not have caused operating system file corruption once written they are only read on start up not rewritten, unless there was a update involved?
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 04-20-2017, 04:45 PM   #12
AVB
TSF Enthusiast
 
AVB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Elora, Tennessee, USA
Posts: 727
OS: Win 7 Pro 64



Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrench97 View Post
A dimm error should not have caused operating system file corruption once written they are only read on start up not rewritten, unless there was a update involved?
Yes there was a recent update. Then I started a few days ago having Microsoft Essentials shutting down overnight. Then I found that defrag program was missing from the system. So I was doing a routine HD scan and repair operation at startup when everything went South. Personally I think that when it got affected.

As I said I found one dimm not fully plugged in but that wasn't the bad one. There was 4 ea of them with 3 the same brand and one oddball. That the one that failed.

Things like this I deal with on a daily basis where what seems impossible happens; though, less electronics and software is involved. I have been told it is impossible for a 2 cycle to backfire through the carb. Well I know better.

Also I have been told it impossible for a calculator to add wrong but I replaced quite a few CPUs back in the early 80's because one model was doing it. The strange thing about it was it only did when certain numbers added together.
AVB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Problems with staying on line with all Browsers
Hi all, I have a Compaq Microsoft Windows XP Version 2002 Service Pk 3. I checked and it said I have 11.3 GB available. I have downloaded every single Browser, IE keeps saying low on memory, no memory at line 1, 10, 22 etc. freezes up on me & boots me off line.The rest of them seem to all say:...
JoJo62 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 14 06-19-2013 07:43 AM
[SOLVED] BSOD after windows update
After a windows update, I have started getting BSOD, "driver_irql_not_less_or_equal". I suspect it has to do with a faulty driver, although I haven't had much luck identifying the culprit. Any help would be greatly appreciated. OS - Windows 7 x86 - x64 bit What was original installed OS...
ghilliedraptor BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 3 05-27-2013 03:10 AM
AMI BIOS 1-2-1 beeps
I have an unusual issue and am not sure that I have a problem. System: Win XP SP3 - with all updates Intel Core 2 Duo 6600 MSI P965 Platinum MB AMI BIOS ID String - 64-0100-000001-00101111-010507-Broadwater I don't have any consistent problem. However, occasionally on shutdown, I'll get a...
dss_cottage Motherboards, Bios & CPU 9 12-03-2012 02:01 PM
Desktop bare, Task Manager absent
So, I'm having a bit of a problem here. I turn on my computer, it works fine. I log in, see my desktop and all my beautiful little icons, then after a second or two they all disappear, as does the taskbar. A little bit after that, I'd estimate four seconds later, a white fullscreen window...
ArkadyOfMars Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 17 02-24-2012 09:35 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts