Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

maybe RAM problem? but not sure...

This is a discussion on maybe RAM problem? but not sure... within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a desktop computer issue that has been baffling me for a couple weeks now. The symptom of the


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-27-2011, 06:53 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
OS: windows 7 ultimate 64-bit



I have a desktop computer issue that has been baffling me for a couple weeks now. The symptom of the this issue is that when I do random functions within Windows and I am getting a full lock-up (basic color palettes in pattern across entire screen) with the only option being a hard restart after powering down the computer manually.

These are the system specs. Nothing is overclocked, factory settings.
i7-960
DX58SO Intel motherboard
1600 Mhz 9-9-9-24 Corsair RAM in 2 GB sticks (various amounts 4gb to 8gb)
Corsair GS700 700 watt PSU
BFG NVidia 280 GTX
WD 500 GB HDD


It sounds like "artificating" of the video card, but I can assure you this happens inside of Windows at times, when I launch say Outlook and firefox and put a load on the system. It will be locked up if I leave the computer idling sometimes and I can back to the rainbow lock-up screen. The video card is manually overridden to run at 100% fan speed at all times.

The case looks pretty clean, and this wasn't an issue until about 2-3 weeks ago. I replaced the PSU with a bigger one, still having the same issue. I've pulled all but 4gb of RAM and it still happens. It seems that I can catalyze the problem by running more intense applications (i.e. MW3 or battlefield 3 w/ pandora, firefox, outlook, etc running) so could it be in the CPU?

I did use Intel Extreme Tuning Software once to "very slightly exceed factory specs" and it ever-so-slightly adjusted the ram, cpu by literally like a 1% OC. I reverted.

I am pretty handy with computers, but I need advice on this one. This usually made me think video card but I just don't see how it is. I have a 9800GT as a backup I could use to test this theory, but I figured I would take it to the forums first.

Thanks in advance
emajin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-27-2011, 07:06 AM   #2
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



I would also think it's a GPU issue. Definitely try a different GPU in your PC or try your GPU in another PC.



Tyree is offline  
Old 11-27-2011, 09:56 AM   #3
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,474
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


Your description of ram in this post scares me and I have little luck with Corsair ram. Are you mixing model numbers here and if so or not have you run memtest86 to check compatibility of what you have in there?
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-27-2011, 10:26 AM   #4
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,260
OS: Windows 10



What changed a couple of weeks ago? Any component upgrades, especially RAM? Are there any errors logged in event viewer? In order to rule out gpu faults, stress test your system while connected to onboard graphics only. For the cpu, run prime95 for atleast 30 minutes. I used to have this problem and guess what? My cpu was overheating, becoming unstable and eventually crashing with color patches on the screen. One of the four heatsink pins was broken and firm, airtight contact had been lost between the heatsink and cpu. How are your cpu temperatures (at atleast 50% cpu load)? As Rich-M suggests, run memtest just to rule out RAM compatibilities, but that is if there have been any changes with regard to RAM, that is: upgrades, BIOS settings such as voltage and clock speed.
Stancestans is offline  
Old 11-27-2011, 11:02 AM   #5
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



I noticed you changed the PSU. Brand & Model of the previous PSU and how long was it used with the 280GTX?
I've used a ton of Corsair RAM without issues but it is always a possibility.



Tyree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ram problem
Have been reading Stu_computers thread about ram-https://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f210/how-to-install-ram-285496.html Done everything,- cleared cmos, used correct slots, set failsafe startup in Bios, updated the Bios, still no joy, system will only work with one 1GB Ram stick, but I want...
hamishgillan RAM and Power Supply Support 6 07-25-2011 08:20 PM
[SOLVED] Computer unbelievably slow, will more RAM fix it?
My computer is extremely, extremely slow, for example opening the Windows Calculator can take 30 or more seconds, so just imagine how slow doing actual work is. When I built the computer I intentionally built it with too little RAM to save money to upgrade it later which I still have never done....
aab1 RAM and Power Supply Support 24 07-01-2011 01:07 AM
ram problem
hi, i just bought a new ram stick 1gb found it outs the wrong one that has been sent. i didnt check that it wasnt right. i have since had the computer on and running a lot faster than usual but has overheated and now when i turn it on, the monitor says that there is no signal and the cooling fan...
daveyzf RAM and Power Supply Support 8 06-04-2011 09:03 AM
Please help me! Got serious ram problem with Sony vaio!!
Hi, i recently bought a Sony Vaio f serie with 6 gig ram 1 gig graphic and I7 quad core processor intergraded. It has always worked fine with 6 gig ram, but three days ago it started to show 2 gig rams only?? I can't make use of all 6 gigs and i don't knwo why. I have flex tech, how do i turn on...
zalathos RAM and Power Supply Support 4 04-04-2011 03:11 PM
[SOLVED] I hate ram.
Okay, so I'm getting rather irritated at my computer and my luck with RAM in general here, I was hoping somebody could enlighten me. Okay, so for christmas I ordered 2 x 1GB sticks of ram and put them into my already 1GB computer (2 x 512) to equal what I was hoping was going to be 3GB ram. For now...
Hudos RAM and Power Supply Support 22 04-01-2011 10:40 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts