Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

It all ties into together, my PSU is failing!

This is a discussion on It all ties into together, my PSU is failing! within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. First of all my PSU is not a quality brand (Mercury). Its worked for around 8 months or more. However


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-09-2009, 07:34 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
OS:


Mistake

First of all my PSU is not a quality brand (Mercury).

Its worked for around 8 months or more. However when my dad said the monitor isnt displaying, i knew my GPU is screwed. This is what i thought for a week until, i luckily saw somewhere that the fan uses the 12+v rail.

My fan sounds alot louder and my pc is actually cooler, ever since that incident when my GPU was switched to using onboard graphics. Obviously my PSU cant supply enough power on the 12+v rail for my 8800gts and now forces to use the onboard graphics. I reckon the fan has gotten more power so operates at a faster RPM thus more noise.

So the 8800GTS might not be the problem.
jonnyc55 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-09-2009, 08:18 AM   #2
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



You definitely need to replace the PSU with a quality unit!
After you install the new, you can check the GPU.



Tyree is offline  
Old 10-09-2009, 08:28 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
OS:



"You definitely need to replace the PSU with a quality unit!"

I need a bit more than this. Why ?

Thanks mate.
jonnyc55 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-09-2009, 08:59 AM   #4
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



My apologies, I assumed the PSU had failed.
You do need to replace the mercury with a quality PSU regardless.
Do you know for certain the 8800GT has failed? If it has, it was most likely due to insufficient power from the Mercury PSU.
have you checked the Bios to check the graphics preference settings?



Tyree is offline  
Old 10-09-2009, 03:16 PM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
OS:



"have you checked the Bios to check the graphics preference settings?"

Good point Tyree. Its set to PCI-E and Plug and Play. However it still uses my onboard graphic chip.

The PSU 12+V Amps only just meets the 8800GTS requirments. This just made me think, well, the PSU is going to stop applying the right amount of power in the 12+v rail, one day.

Am pretty sure that amps on rails can fail with cheap PSU's.

Thanks

P.S. When the pc goes into hibernation it wont come back out of it. Another thing, my pc will hang on the boot screen for a lot longer than normal.
jonnyc55 is offline  
Old 10-09-2009, 07:01 PM   #6
Troubled
 
Phædrus241's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 4,862
OS: Vista Ultimate x64 SP1

My System


As a power supply gets older the amount of power it can deliver decreases, because the components corrode and can handle less current. Thus a low-end PSU that could just barely power your system when you got it could very be failing now.

I would recommend a unit like this:
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...rsair%20650%5c
It's on sale, so now is the time to get it.
Phædrus241 is offline  
Old 10-10-2009, 06:43 AM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
OS:



Do i need a 650W PSU ?
jonnyc55 is offline  
Old 10-10-2009, 06:47 AM   #8
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Phædrus2401 suggested the 650W because it's on sale for the price of the 550W Corsair and 650W gives you plenty of breathing room for power. It's a win win deal for you.



Tyree is offline  
Old 10-13-2009, 01:37 PM   #9
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
OS:


Roll Eyes

Well just an update. My dad decided to buy a whole new pc. So anyway i could of bought a PSU instead of that new PC which dont have PCI-E, :( , but i hesitated. 2 18A 12v+ enough power for 8800GTS ? Because i didnt think it would work and not just give 18A. Remmeber i need 28A+ on 12+v rail.

Also the LED lights dont even turn on now and my PC fans dont either. Is this a positive PSU failure ?

Thanks, .
jonnyc55 is offline  
Old 10-13-2009, 04:40 PM   #10
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



I'm more than a little confused about the first part of your post so forgive me if this all sounds like jibberish.
You got a new PC and it doesn't have a PCI-E?
The two 18A rails add together to make a total of 36A. That is sufficient "IF" it is a quality brand PSU with enough total wattage to power the system.
Prebuilt PC's most often come with low quality PSU's.


The last part certainly sounds like a failed PSU.



Tyree is offline  
Old 10-14-2009, 10:17 AM   #11
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
OS:



Ok you made sense :). Sorry i was in rush to type that last post.

Ok before i say thanks for your help :D, can i just ask, why i have a PCI-E x8 slot on my motherboard, why my BIOS is not showing PCI-E in the video output.

Thanks mate.
jonnyc55 is offline  
Old 10-14-2009, 01:06 PM   #12
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



What Mobo? What PC? If the Mobo has two PCI-E graphics slots the second one is commonly 8X.



Tyree is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 09:55 AM   #13
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
OS:



According to EVEREST the mobo name is just "Dell Inspiron 545".
jonnyc55 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts