Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Issue with RAM. (Moved from XP)

This is a discussion on Issue with RAM. (Moved from XP) within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, Last summer I bought an extra 1Gb RAM from Crucial in order to speed up my computer. Until recently


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-25-2008, 12:17 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
OS:



Hi,

Last summer I bought an extra 1Gb RAM from Crucial in order to speed up my computer. Until recently it worked like a charm, but 3 weeks ago I started to notice my computer slowed down considerably. At first I thought it was due to lack of hard-drive space, but had no time to correct this until today. After clearing and defragging the hard-drive, there was no discernible change in speed.

I looked about on the internet, and saw that doing a registry check could sort out speed issues (although by this time I already suspected the RAM was at fault), so I performed this diagnostic using Reg Cure, all to no avail.

I then performed the usual memtest, booting from a CD I burned using cdburn.exe (incidently when I was writing the file to cd using cdburn, it could not synchronize cache fully, saying error-rejecting/ejecting, or something like that. I didn't think this would be a problem, and when the CD worked I assumed it didn't). The test kept on shutting down before completion. After this occurred a few times, it finally returned an error message saying something about Error found, max 30 min 30 average 30, before I had to turn it off. I checked this and rechecked this and each time it occurred during the 2nd or 3rd tests.

I then removed the memory I had put in last summer, and tested it again. This time it reached test 7 or 8 before shutting down.

The computer still works fine, it is just unbearably slow in starting up, turning off and everything in between. Any suggestions??

Also I read a thread which seemed to have a similar problem, and was eventually solved by cleaning the fan, but I have no clue how to perform a procedure like that!

Computer:
Compaq nx8220
Intel Centrino
ATI X-something 64mb Graphics
1.3Gb RAM (1Gb from Crucial, 256mb from the original computer)


Thanks for any help!
petey22 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-25-2008, 12:41 PM   #2
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 10
OS:



Running a registry clean up and clearing out the disk using Disk Cleanup helps.
Did you buy RegCure? It only cleans up 60 files or so then stops working, so no change in speed will happen.
sky geek is offline  
Old 05-25-2008, 01:13 PM   #3
elf
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
elf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Knoxville, TN or Austin, TX depending
Posts: 7,738
OS: WinXP Pro SP3 and Windows 7

My System

Send a message via AIM to elf

Perhaps you should try with a new copy of Memtest. It's possible you have a bad copy of memtest now (maybe that problem with the burning process), and a spyware/virus infection. If you want, I can move this thread over to our hardware section where they might know a bit more about Memtest.
elf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-26-2008, 12:59 AM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
OS:



Yeah that would be great elf, thanks. Also I had a copy of reg cure from when I had to clear up my desktop so I used that. I'm fairly certain I don't have a virus since I keep my norton up-to-date. Thanks anyway!
petey22 is offline  
Old 05-26-2008, 04:23 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

if your ram shows error the only fix is to return the ram stick to the manufacturer for replacment


BTW: I would not mess with any registry cleaners ........ they tend to either do nothing or trash windows >>>>>> you take your pick
linderman is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 04:22 AM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
OS:



I thought I would have to, but is it normal or unusual for my computer to shutdown repeatedly whilst performing the Memory or Hard-drive test? I don't mind so much replacing the RAM, but having my computer behave like that did make me worry that the RAM isn't the only problem..
petey22 is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 02:27 PM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

bad ram can cause that symptom


you wont know definetly until you get your ram replaced ?
linderman is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 01:35 AM   #8
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
OS:



Crucial have offered me a replacement module now, but I'm a bit worried because when I removed the chip, and tried the memtest it still happened, only not as frequently, and it passed more of the memory tests before it happened.

I can't remove the other chip as it is embedded somewhere in the depths of my laptop... Which means if it is that chip, I'll have to send the whole computer back at a price to Compaq...

Anyway, Thanks for your help, I'm just moaning now! Pete
petey22 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts