Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Issue with new DDR4 on MSI board

This is a discussion on Issue with new DDR4 on MSI board within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm building a new PC and I needed 24GB of RAM so I went with: MSI Z370 GAMING PLUS motherboard


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-27-2018, 09:45 AM   #1
des
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 352
OS: All of them but Mac



I'm building a new PC and I needed 24GB of RAM so I went with:
MSI Z370 GAMING PLUS motherboard
Gskill F4-2666C15D-16GVR (2x8)
Gskill F4-2666C15D-8GVR (2x4)
SAMSUNG 970 EVO M.2 2280 500GB SSD
i5-8600 CPU which intel's own page says has a native memory controller speed of DDR4-2666

So every time I turned it on before OS installation and hit F1 or whatever to do the initial config. I turned on XMP and reset the time and that's it. Then when I rebooted, it was delayed by about 8 seconds then says the previous overclock failed and the BIOS was reset. So I thought okay, that's odd, verified the settings and turned XMP on again. It did the same thing.

So then just to troubleshoot some unstable RAM, I left it at XMP off with 2133 MHz as the set speed and rebooted and same message on reboot. So I took out the 2x4GB kit and it worked just fine, even installed the OS with XMP turned on. Those kits are identical except for size.

According to the motherboard manual, I'm supposed to install a single kit in slot 2 and 4 so that's where I put the 8GB sticks. Then I put the 4GB ones in 1 and 3. The diagram says 1 and 2 are channel A and 3 and 4 are channel 2, implying that dual-channel kits should go in 2 and 4.

I know that AMD setups have the memory controller speed change based on how many sticks are there but this is Intel and it failed to boot property even at the default 2133. So what's going on? Do I have a bad kit? Is that somehow an invalid configuration? Do the smaller sticks have to be in 2 and 4 instead? Does DDR4 require them all to match? Or is it something I haven't thought of. Any help would be greatly appreciated. My main concern is if the motherboard has some severe problem, I'd want to RMA it immediately before I activate the Win10 license.
des is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-27-2018, 11:51 AM   #2
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,152
OS: Windows 10



Try booting with the 2x4 kit only in slots 2 and 4. Does it POST?
Stancestans is offline  
Old 08-27-2018, 01:47 PM   #3
des
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 352
OS: All of them but Mac



Yeah, that kit POSTs fine separately with XMP turned on.
des is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-28-2018, 04:07 AM   #4
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
 
bassfisher6522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,325
OS: Windows 10 Pro



Ideally you would install exact like pairs....either of those 16gb kits or 2 of those 8gb kits so there's no issue with mixed matched pairs, even if they are identical. Some mobo's just don't like that kind of setup period.

Check your mobo for a BIOS update and see what the update details are. You may need to update the BIOS.

Since the 8gb kit boots up normally in slots 2/4....I would leave them as they are and then add the 16gb to slots 1/3 and see how that works.
__________________
bassfisher6522 is offline  
Old 08-28-2018, 05:22 AM   #5
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,471
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


I suspect the ram is slightly incompatible. Usually slight incompatibilities will not show at lower levels but 24 gb and 4 sticks only pointed that out.
If I am building a unit and using above 8 gb ram I always read the motherboard mfgr's tested memory recommendations and only buy those because no ram for sale gives us enough info to determine real compatibility and I got tired of situations like you are having being a frequent builder and since I have been doing this I never have had an issue.
Curiously there is no tested recommended 2666 Gskill ram among the tested rams and an awful lot were tested to make for some easy choices. If I cannot find the ram I want tested on the board I change one or the other until I do. Otherwise it is just too tough!
https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/supp...#support-mem-5
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 08-28-2018, 09:12 AM   #6
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,468
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


Quote:
The diagram says 1 and 2 are channel A and 3 and 4 are channel 2, implying that dual-channel kits should go in 2 and 4.
That's not what that implies (or says).

Dual channel on your specific boards works with the red slots 2 and 4 (A2 and B2) with the first pair of RAM and slots 1 and 3 (A1 and B1) for the 2nd pair of RAM.

IMO, you should leave the XMP switch alone (in the default setting) while installing the RAM.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Unexplained frame rate issue
Hi all, Recently, I have had an issue where after roughly 1.5-2 hours of playing certain games, my frame rate takes a big hit, and gets locked below 20FPS. Reloading the game does not help. What's worse, it seems like the issue goes beyond lost frame rate at times. There have been instances...
AlgernonFTW PC Gaming Support 45 06-17-2018 09:58 PM
Mother board Issue
Hello Everyone I think I might have a problem that it long running. About last week something went wrong with my pc and when I turned it on I just got a black screen but, I had to replace two ram stick and replace two HDD, and that fixed the problem (I though so). Now I think I have a...
duffman3000 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 9 05-06-2014 10:15 AM
[SOLVED] BSOD - Video Driver related?
Windows 7 service pack 1 64 bit this is the original os, original install, full retail version I built this system in late december, os install is of the same age cpu - Intel Core i5 3570 graphics card - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 Ti motherboard - MSI B75MA-E33 (MS-7808) power supply -...
Hishu BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 5 02-05-2013 06:46 AM
Help, Installed new RAM on MSI mother board
I had 1gb of RAM on the motherboard in one slot. I have two slots and installed another. Giving me 2 gb of RAM total. My motherboard specs say i should support 2 gb according to the manual. With 2 gb of RAM (1 old, 1 new), I plugged the computer back in and turned the power switch on. The...
spitfire04 RAM and Power Supply Support 17 04-16-2011 01:08 PM
is this issue with the Mother Board or PSU..?
here is the strange problem with my PC Specs: Intel DG41RQ with Intel Processor (E5300) 2.65 GHz Seagte 500GB HD with 2GB 2D ATX Zeb Farista Cabinet with SMPS - 250wts Windows XP Professional Issue:
seenuguddu RAM and Power Supply Support 4 02-07-2011 10:03 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts