Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

is my power supply powerful enough?

This is a discussion on is my power supply powerful enough? within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am looking to run: Asus P6T motherboard 8GB DDR2 RAM 1x SATA HDD [1TB] Intel Core i7 920 2x


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-07-2009, 06:15 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 160
OS: Windows 7 (7600) x64 MSDN /legit



I am looking to run:

Asus P6T motherboard
8GB DDR2 RAM
1x SATA HDD [1TB]
Intel Core i7 920
2x 130mm fan, 1 w\ LED
1x 250mm fan w\ LED
1 CD/DVD drive (lightscribe)
Zotac GTX275 896MB DDR3

But the confusing part with this is. I am planning on having 2 LCD monitors. I am currently running Windows 7 and do not want to lose my aero effect. If I use a single graphics card and a VGA splitter will I lose my aero effect? Or am I maybe better off using both my 9500GT and the GTX275?

I do also plan on possibly overclocking once I have a bit more knowledge about it.

Thanks.
Milk Rulz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-07-2009, 06:40 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 25,111
OS: XP Professional



Impossible to answer about if your power supply is powerful enough (title of thread) since you didn't say what your power supply was.
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Old 09-07-2009, 08:06 AM   #3
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



The Aero effect is in the OS.
Save yourself some money and trouble...go with a 775 build.
OC'ing voids the CPU warranty.



Tyree is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-07-2009, 06:28 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
grimx133's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada eh
Posts: 4,456
OS: xp mce sp2, xp pro sp2, windows 7 x86

My System


One graphics card will run two monitors, you don't split the cable. That's why there's two dvi ports on the back of the card. You can either clone the display and have the same on both monitors, or extend your desktop and use both as one, just drag windows from one to the other.
grimx133 is offline  
Old 09-07-2009, 07:44 PM   #5
Troubled
 
Phædrus241's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 4,862
OS: Vista Ultimate x64 SP1

My System


A GTX275 should have something like a Corsair TX750W.
Phædrus241 is offline  
Old 09-08-2009, 03:21 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 160
OS: Windows 7 (7600) x64 MSDN /legit



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
The Aero effect is in the OS.
Save yourself some money and trouble...go with a 775 build.
OC'ing voids the CPU warranty.
But I heard that the i7 has much better performance and well worth the money. If it voids the CPU warranty then I guess I wont overclock it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by grimx133 View Post
One graphics card will run two monitors, you don't split the cable. That's why there's two dvi ports on the back of the card. You can either clone the display and have the same on both monitors, or extend your desktop and use both as one, just drag windows from one to the other.
Is there much different between dvi and vga? and I asked the aero question because when I plug a monitor into the laptop the aero effect goes away and just gives basic.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phædrus2401 View Post
A GTX275 should have something like a Corsair TX750W.
Funny you suggested that.. I have exactly that :P

@Tumbleweed, sorry that was really stupid of me :P
Milk Rulz is offline  
Old 09-08-2009, 06:56 AM   #7
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



A good 775 build will perform as well/better than an i7 build for less money and problems.

ASUS P5Q Turbo $125
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131375

Intel Core Duo E8400 $168
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115037

CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 800 (PC2 6400 $65
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145184



Tyree is offline  
Old 09-09-2009, 11:30 PM   #8
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,762
OS: Windows 7

My System


my 775 build rips the **** out of some gaming i7s according to futuremark, go with 775 it will be around for a long time to come.
greenbrucelee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts