Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Is my pc getting enough voltage?

This is a discussion on Is my pc getting enough voltage? within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. So I recently upgraded to: gtx 760 intel i7 3470 @3.4ghz 4gb ram 1333mhz GIGABYTE H87-HD3 and all of that


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-12-2014, 11:53 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 159
OS: Windows 7 x64



So I recently upgraded to:

gtx 760
intel i7 3470 @3.4ghz
4gb ram 1333mhz
GIGABYTE H87-HD3

and all of that is being powered by a corsair 650TX

here's what I'm getting


and when I play games such as Far Cry 3 at ultra
the temperature rises to 80 degrees (for both CPU&GPU). I hope that's not an issue
Sumaher4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-12-2014, 11:58 AM   #2
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 7,670
OS: Vista x64 SP2

My System


Temperature of what?

In this instance, I would treat all of the readings from HWM as bogus. If those were accurate, then your PC simply would not boot.
gcavan is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 12:00 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 159
OS: Windows 7 x64



Quote:
Originally Posted by gcavan View Post
Temperature of what?

In this instance, I would treat all of the readings from HWM as bogus. If those were accurate, then your PC simply would not boot.
Sorry, Celsius. Are those figures false?
Sumaher4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-12-2014, 12:09 PM   #4
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,311
OS: win 10 Home



Check the voltages and temps in the bios that is the most reliable reading
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 12:12 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 159
OS: Windows 7 x64



Quote:
Originally Posted by joeten View Post
Check the voltages and temps in the bios that is the most reliable reading
I would need a step by step guide on how to do that, does anyone have a link to that?
Sumaher4 is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 12:24 PM   #6
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,311
OS: win 10 Home



See page 31 here https://www.quietpc.com/instructions/...ga-h87-hd3.pdf and continue reading this is all about your bios
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 12:56 PM   #7
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 7,670
OS: Vista x64 SP2

My System


It is not uncommon for aftermarket applications to deliver false readings of voltages and temperatures. Usually it is a matter of the app not being calibrated for the specific sensor/monitor chip on the motherboard. Nothing to do about it but to look around for a different application. Your best bet is probably EasyTune6 which you will find on the driver/application disk which shipped with your Gigabyte motherboard.
gcavan is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 01:02 PM   #8
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



As noted, the readings you posted from HWMonitor are obviously incorrect. i.e. +12V is 3.168.
Your temps look fine but the Bios is commonly the most accoutre source for Voltages and Temps.
Boot to the Bios and look under "System Health".
If you're not experiencing any performance problems, you're probably fine.



Tyree is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 01:26 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 159
OS: Windows 7 x64



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
As noted, the readings you posted from HWMonitor are obviously incorrect. i.e. +12V is 3.168.
Your temps look fine but the Bios is commonly the most accoutre source for Voltages and Temps.
Boot to the Bios and look under "System Health".
If you're not experiencing any performance problems, you're probably fine.
thanks I will check it out and post again
Sumaher4 is offline  
Old 03-15-2014, 06:43 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 159
OS: Windows 7 x64



My last thread: https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...ge-808666.html

wasn't sure if I was allowed to bump so Made a new thread.

Here are the bios
Sumaher4 is offline  
Old 03-15-2014, 07:21 AM   #11
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 7,670
OS: Vista x64 SP2

My System


FYI: It's your thread so have at it. Provided, of course, you aren't spamming 'bump' for attention. Fact is, we would prefer you kept posting re the same issue in the same thread.

RE temps/voltages: Voltages are perfect. 51C is high for an idle temperature. What cooler? Is cpu overclocked?
gcavan is offline  
Old 03-15-2014, 07:24 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 159
OS: Windows 7 x64



Quote:
Originally Posted by gcavan View Post
FYI: It's your thread so have at it. Provided, of course, you aren't spamming 'bump' for attention. Fact is, we would prefer you kept posting re the same issue in the same thread.

RE temps/voltages: Voltages are perfect. 51C is high for an idle temperature. What cooler? Is cpu overclocked?
cooler is the default one that came along with the cpu (i7 3470 @3.4 no overclocking)

oh yea and sorry about the new thread.
Sumaher4 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Voltage for PC2-6400?
I am currently trying my best to overclock my old PC 6400. Currently I have it at 462MHz with 6-6-6-16 timings... I figure I could get it a bit faster if I up the voltage.. From what I have read, the normal voltage for ddr2 is around 2.5v or so. But my motherboard (asus P5K) has that as the...
michaelb15 RAM and Power Supply Support 4 02-12-2013 02:02 AM
AMD 955 @ 3.7GHz - voltage?
So, I'm overclocking my AMD 955 to 3.7GHz. It runs fine on stock voltages at 3.6GHz, however I pushed it up a little for 3.7. My issue is this: I saw that my voltage was 1.45v in CPUID and CoreTemp. I thought this can't be right, because default voltage should be 1.35 volts should it not? I went...
jrockpunk1 Overclocking 6 10-06-2011 09:55 PM
trouble with overclocking and voltage
using a phenom ii x4 95w with default of 2.8mhz. overclocked to 3.08 without any voltage changing. but i wanted at least like 3.2 or something so i figured id change the voltage so i slowly changed the voltage up and only went up by one on the base clock each time (from 220 to 221) and ran a...
kalibcrone Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 1 05-11-2011 05:38 PM
NF750-G55 voltage settings
MSI NF750-G55 (MS-7578) latest bios update. 1.4 CPU = AMD Phenom II X4 945 Deneb RAM = G skill F3-10666CL9 -1GBPK (x4chips) DDR3 Windows XP pro. Geforce 9800 GTX+ 512mb I have owned this motherboard for about 10months. I am considering sending it back for the second time before it runs out...
grimzella Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 3 01-27-2011 05:40 PM
Can't figure out what causes bsod..Ram?..HD...Video Card?
I've been getting this atapi.sys -address F74197FB base at F7417000,Datestamp 4802539d, Driver_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL Here's what I've been doing. I thought it was a bad video card when the monitor showed black. I ordered a video card but ended up sending it back when I found that replacing one...
mediumedion RAM and Power Supply Support 23 01-25-2011 06:35 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts