Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Is it possible to clear ram manually?

This is a discussion on Is it possible to clear ram manually? within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. RAM is running low. and I want to get some back. What suggestion that I see most aside from shutting


Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By Bill_Bright
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-29-2019, 11:10 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
NotSoGeeky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 181
OS: Windows 7 Pro x64

My System


RAM is running low. and I want to get some back. What suggestion that I see most aside from shutting down is to close and reopen explorer.

There are programs that claim to do it, and another suggestion here is to create a shortcut containing this code:
Code:
%windir%\system32\rundll32.exe advapi32.dll,ProcessIdleTasks
But do any of these methods actually work?
NotSoGeeky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-30-2019, 12:57 AM   #2
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
 
satrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wales U.K.
Posts: 5,682
OS: W7 SP1 Pro x64

My System


It might help if you describe your normal usage, duration of the sessions, software used, etc.
__________________
satrow is offline  
Old 01-31-2019, 08:35 AM   #3
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,467
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


Quote:
RAM is running low. and I want to get some back.
But do any of these methods actually work?
Not for your problem.

And to that, what is telling you you are running low on RAM. If you are not getting any errors, you likely don't have a problem.

The reason to clear RAM is really for security - so a bad guy stepping up to your computer as you run to the bathroom cannot access some sensitive data that might still be in RAM.

Clearing RAM because you are running low on RAM is not how memory management works. Windows will automatically dump lower priority data as space is needed. The user does not need to do anything.

If you are running low on RAM it is more likely you have too many programs starting with Windows, you dinked with the Page File setting when you should just let Windows manage it, and/or you are running low of free disk space.

8GB of system RAM is typically plenty for W7 work just fine in. So check your startup programs and disable any you don't regularly use. You can see what they are in Task Manager.

Run CCleaner or Windows Disk Cleanup to clear out the clutter on your drives. If you dinked with the Page File settings, change them back to Windows Managed. If still low on free disk space, uninstall any programs you installed you don't use. If you don't know what it is, Google it. If you still don't know, leave it.
NotSoGeeky and SpywareDr like this.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-03-2019, 10:21 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
NotSoGeeky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 181
OS: Windows 7 Pro x64

My System


Sorry if my intentions were not clear. I am not having any actual problems... no issues like a leak or a sudden drop in RAM causing a hang with no explanation.

I was speaking along the lines of running several programs that use up a lot of RAM quickly (such as, while free RAM was already low, using an image program trying to process a ridiculously large file.) When done, the RAM is not suddenly freed and give back to me.

So, with that in mind, this is why I was wondering if there was some way to do that instead of a long wait or a restart. (I remember back in Windows v3.1 days I had a program that could do it, so everything was so much simpler back then.)


Thanks for taking the time to explain the processes a little more clearly.
NotSoGeeky is offline  
Old 02-03-2019, 10:39 AM   #5
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,467
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


Quote:
When done, the RAM is not suddenly freed and give back to me.
How do you know this?

What should happen is when you open another program, Word for example, any previously unused RAM would then be allocated to Word.

Windows 7 (if your profile information is correct) knows how to manage memory fine. If you are not getting any errors, I would not worry about it.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Old 02-04-2019, 12:58 AM   #6
Elite Commander
 
VividProfessional's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Merseyside Uk
Posts: 1,406
OS: Windows 10

My System

Send a message via MSN to VividProfessional

How often do you restart your machine? Have have seen issues with Machines that havent been rebooted for 20+ days before now but not really before unless your installing lots of programs and windows updates are screaming for a restart
__________________
Boeing 787 Dreamliner Register
The worlds premier Dreamliner site
www.b787register.co.uk
VividProfessional is offline  
Old 02-04-2019, 06:40 AM   #7
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,467
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


Quote:
Have have seen issues with Machines that havent been rebooted for 20+ days before now
I used to see this a lot with XP, much less with Windows 7 and very rarely with Windows 10 (I avoided Vista and rarely used W8).

Point being, newer versions of Windows are much better at memory management. So are the programs to run on newer versions of Windows.

I rarely ever reboot, unless some Windows or security update forces it.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need advice for RAM upgrade
Hello, I currently have 8GB (2x4GB sticks) of GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 RAM. I plan to upgrade this to 16GB, and the easiest and cheapest way of doing this seems to be by installing 2 more 4GB sticks. So my first question: are there any drawbacks of having 4 sticks of RAM as opposed to 2? Does...
TheRandomGuy7 RAM and Power Supply Support 5 11-17-2014 10:20 AM
No display when adding new RAM
I have an Acer M1641 Desktop and I bought a brand new RAM (which is 2GB DDR2-800 Kingston) to upgrade my existing one (which is 1GB DDR2-667 Samsung). My plan was to buy a RAM with the same frequency (DDR2-667) but It's difficult to find one, so I bought the DDR2-800. I asked the sales clerk if...
duomax03 RAM and Power Supply Support 13 12-04-2011 06:33 PM
[SOLVED] Computer unbelievably slow, will more RAM fix it?
My computer is extremely, extremely slow, for example opening the Windows Calculator can take 30 or more seconds, so just imagine how slow doing actual work is. When I built the computer I intentionally built it with too little RAM to save money to upgrade it later which I still have never done....
aab1 RAM and Power Supply Support 24 07-01-2011 01:07 AM
Selecting RAM for your Laptop
Introduction: The type of RAM a laptop takes can usually be determined by what processor it has. The processor is always easy to tell, to find out, download a free utility called PC Wizard. This utility will tell you your information about your computer, including your CPU and its model number....
TheMatt Laptop Support 1 11-26-2006 11:25 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts