Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Installing RAM Snafu

This is a discussion on Installing RAM Snafu within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, Recently was helping a friend add memory to an old Dell Dimension 8300 Desktop that he recently began using

Closed Thread

Old 12-04-2011, 01:48 PM   #1
Registered Member

Hello,
Recently was helping a friend add memory to an old Dell Dimension 8300 Desktop that he recently began using again after a newer computer broke down.
This desktop had only 256 Mb Ram (2 separate 126 Mb modules). Now I had added memory to each of my last three PCs- but i am by no means an expert in any way.
He purchased memory that was suppose to be compatible. DDR pc-3200 type.

Anyway, after a couple failed attempts to add the memory a message in simple white text on solid black screen said there was a failure at checkpoint [Krst].

We both thought things would be fine after we just basically took out the new modules and put the original ones back where they were before we got in over our heads. The machine now doesn't even power on.
(When the power button is pressed there are tones- about 1 second each- that just repeat. But the monitor doesn't even come on at all now.

Any opinions, suggestions, etc would be so appreciated.
-Alex
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-04-2011, 01:53 PM   #2
TSF - Enthusiast

My System

Clear CMOS settings.

Remove the battery from the motherboard or use the jumper.

Attempt to boot the PC with just the old memory installed and make sure seated properly.
Old 12-04-2011, 02:17 PM   #3
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP

There are 4 diagnostic lights are any lit up and which color are they?

Here is the Beep code list and the diag lite guide > Documentation