Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Insanely High RAM Usage while Idle

This is a discussion on Insanely High RAM Usage while Idle within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey, My PC is an i7 950k with two GTX 670 GPU's and currently 8 GB of RAM. I had


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-09-2014, 04:21 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
OS: Windows 7


EEK!

Hey,

My PC is an i7 950k with two GTX 670 GPU's and currently 8 GB of RAM. I had a problem with one of the sticks which wouldn't work at all, but I also had to rearrange my other two before I was getting 8G instead of 4. (maybe there is something wrong with the slots)

Anyway, I am currently running literally no programs on Task Manager and it is still showing that I am using up to 7.84 GB of memory. Let me repeat, there are no games or other programs running, not even web browsers. Naturally when I do run a game or more memory-intensive program, it lags like crazy. What is the best solution to this issue? Is it Spyware? Should I reinstall Windows or get another 8GB of RAM? Alternatively it could be something with the motherboard... but I have no idea how to diagnose that. The GPU and CPU are running fine, other than some instances where a game will only use one core of the processor, when it should be using at least 4 of the 8 available ones. If you are familiar with these symptoms please respond.

I should also mention that the motherboard is a Sabertooth from around 2011 and the CPU usage is between 5-10% when this problem occurs.

Thanks!
BananaKatana is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-10-2014, 12:44 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
jimscreechy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,233
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

My System

Send a message via MSN to jimscreechy

So, in task manager, what process does it attribute to this high memory usage?
jimscreechy is offline  
Old 07-10-2014, 02:07 AM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 2,619
OS: XP SP3, Windows 7 SP1



Post a screenshot of Task Manager - Performance tab.
LMiller7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-10-2014, 07:13 AM   #4
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Brand & Model Number of the Mobo?
Brand-specs-how many stick of ram?



Tyree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crazy High CPU Usage * All processes
Hello people! DDS (Ver_2012-11-20.01) - NTFS_AMD64 Internet Explorer: 10.0.9200.16660 BrowserJavaVersion: 10.25.2 Run by admin at 21:07:25 on 2013-09-02 Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 6.1.7601.1.1252.44.1033.18.2811.2083 . AV: Panda Cloud Antivirus *Disabled/Updated*...
h_20 Resolved HJT Threads 5 09-15-2013 04:43 PM
Sudden Graphical Issues
Hi there, New to TSF, howdy. Nice to be here. Hopefully you guys can help me with my issue. Bit of background: I play an MMORPG called Lord of the Rings online and for four years my computer has played it on Ultra High graphics with no difficulty, not even lag. Today I was in a PVP (where...
Fiarlle PC Gaming Support 3 09-22-2012 06:06 AM
Published: All you need to know to play the latest games on a Low End PC [updated:07/02/2011]
NOTICE: I have Upgraded my CPU from a Dual Core E2200 to a Core 2 Duo E7400, so the old benchmarks are based on a Dual Core E2200, but starting from July 2011, all benchmarks will be based on the Core 2 Duo E7400 and the same Video Card Geforce 9600 GT please be aware that the following guide...
RockmasteR Dead-Sea Scrolls 17 07-20-2012 01:33 AM
High CPU usage >2GB RAM
Hi, Really weird problem here. Basically, my computer was AOK when I was running xp 32bit, but i recently installed a new heatsink and formatted to 7 and now (after thinking it might be an OS problem) Vista 64bit. When I did format, and had my 6gigs of RAM running, the cpu usage would be crazy...
carlweathers RAM and Power Supply Support 1 01-10-2012 02:09 AM
High CPU Usage on idle
Hey all, I just picked up a new netbook about a week ago. It is the Asus 1215b. AMD E-350 processor 1.6 ghz 6 gig ram installed Win 7 Home Premium 64 bit The thing seems to play games decently if the CPU is available, but I have found more often than not that the system idle floats...
captainbarred Laptop Support 2 05-29-2011 11:11 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts