Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

How Much Is Too Much RAM

This is a discussion on How Much Is Too Much RAM within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I just bought another refurbished HP Elite 8200 SFF. It came with Windows 10 and an Intel Core i5 2400,


Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Corday
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-06-2018, 12:07 PM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: nc
Posts: 1,092
OS: XP, Vista, Windows 10 Pro, Ubuntu



I just bought another refurbished HP Elite 8200 SFF. It came with Windows 10 and an Intel Core i5 2400, 3.10Hz processor. It has 8GB RAM. I was thinking, if it has the hardware to support Win10, it might be able to run the next Windows OS to come.

With that in mind, I started searching to find the maximum RAM this computer could use. While not quoted specifically for this computer, I see where 16, 32, and even 64 GB RAM are available.

My question is, as I don't do gaming, would I benefit from so much RAM? Cost is a factor. If I could swing 16GB RAM and the computer could use it, how much overall benefit could I expect to get from installing it?
likekinds is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-06-2018, 12:32 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: nc
Posts: 1,092
OS: XP, Vista, Windows 10 Pro, Ubuntu



I read different accounts as to the max RAM this computer can use. Crucial puts it at 32GB. I was shocked at the prices. RAM has not come down in price the way Hard Drives have. I won't be upgrading my memory any time soon.

It still would be nice to know what I could expect in the way of performance if I should decide to upgrade to 16 GB RAM.
likekinds is offline  
Old 09-06-2018, 12:49 PM   #3
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,025
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


32 GB is the max for your computer as is. If you don't game 8 is OK. Right now there is no OS after10 planned. MS intends to keep updating it (forever?).
likekinds likes this.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-06-2018, 01:27 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: nc
Posts: 1,092
OS: XP, Vista, Windows 10 Pro, Ubuntu



That's interesting. Microsoft may not be planning a successor to Win10, but I will wager Win10 will eventually be updated to the point it resembles nothing like the Win10 we know.

Thanks!
likekinds is offline  
Old 09-07-2018, 08:46 AM   #5
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,468
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by likekinds View Post
That's interesting. Microsoft may not be planning a successor to Win10, but I will wager Win10 will eventually be updated to the point it resembles nothing like the Win10 we know.

Thanks!
That's actually the plan. Not to update it beyond recognition, but to keep evolving it as new software and hardware come along, and users' needs change. If that requires changing its appearance completely, then so be it.

What is happening is Microsoft is concentrating their business away from the OS and on to other applications and services. And that's okay with me after all the OS should be in the background so our apps is what we see most of the time.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to install all my RAM at the same time
Hello there gents, I have a bit of a problem that has me stumped, and would greatly appreciate any input at all! Firstly, my relevant specs are: Intel i7 950 3.06GHz Quad Asus Sabertooth x58 Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333MHz x 3 Palit GTX 460 2GB Seasonic M12-II 520W PSU Roughly a week ago, I...
johndoeis RAM and Power Supply Support 8 11-30-2014 04:48 PM
Need advice for RAM upgrade
Hello, I currently have 8GB (2x4GB sticks) of GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 RAM. I plan to upgrade this to 16GB, and the easiest and cheapest way of doing this seems to be by installing 2 more 4GB sticks. So my first question: are there any drawbacks of having 4 sticks of RAM as opposed to 2? Does...
TheRandomGuy7 RAM and Power Supply Support 5 11-17-2014 10:20 AM
No display when adding new RAM
I have an Acer M1641 Desktop and I bought a brand new RAM (which is 2GB DDR2-800 Kingston) to upgrade my existing one (which is 1GB DDR2-667 Samsung). My plan was to buy a RAM with the same frequency (DDR2-667) but It's difficult to find one, so I bought the DDR2-800. I asked the sales clerk if...
duomax03 RAM and Power Supply Support 13 12-04-2011 06:33 PM
Half of the Ram detected by PC
Greetings fellow gamers, tech guys (staff members and amateurs). Now this will be normal post and a normal problem, identified by many users. I just bought this 1GB DDR1 Ram stick. I had once a stick of 256 MB of Ram (DDR1) and then added one more stick of 256 MB of ram (DDR1). After a time I...
Tech Amateur RAM and Power Supply Support 14 02-12-2011 08:22 AM
Selecting RAM for your Laptop
Introduction: The type of RAM a laptop takes can usually be determined by what processor it has. The processor is always easy to tell, to find out, download a free utility called PC Wizard. This utility will tell you your information about your computer, including your CPU and its model number....
TheMatt Laptop Support 1 11-26-2006 11:25 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts