Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

How can I tell if a RAM chip from old laptop will work in new laptop?

This is a discussion on How can I tell if a RAM chip from old laptop will work in new laptop? within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My newer laptop has 4GB ram and can be very slow at times and well, I just found my old


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-26-2018, 10:43 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 35
OS: Windows 10



My newer laptop has 4GB ram and can be very slow at times and well, I just found my old laptop that I forgot I kept. There is no hard drive in it so I can't boot it up to see exactly which kind of ram chip it is. Is there a number or something on the chip itself that will help identify it?

I want to put it into a Gateway NE56R41u Windows 10 (latest update) 64-bit system. There is one unused ram slot inside.

All I know about my old laptop is it is a Compaq. I can post a serial number if that is useful here.

From google searches, all I could find was "Try it to see if it works," well I'd like something more confident than that.

Thanks


Edit: If I have something that works, why bother spending $40-$60 on a new one? ya know
PuNkMaN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-26-2018, 11:30 PM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Done_Fishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brit living in Greece
Posts: 12,283
OS: WinME, WinXP Pro SP3, Win7(x64), Linux distros incl. Ubuntu 9.10 & Netbook Remix & CD2USB, Slax6.1

My System


boot into bios on your old laptop .. you don't need a disk drive for it to power on and access bios ..

from within BIOS you will be able to see how much RAM is installed ... no point in putting a 2GB RAM in place of a 4GB ..

to see if they are compatible check to see where the cut out is on the edge connector after removal.
to see what RAM it is .. remove from laptop and look for the label that tells you what it is .. also you can google the code written on the chips themselves.


in fact you could put a bootable Linux cd rom in the tray and boot from that if you have one or some sort of system diagnostic cd
__________________
.


.
I'm not old!!
I'm age impaired

..
D_F


I DON'T PLAY GAMES


HDD DIAG UTILS

TSF's Photographer's Corner



How to Use Ubuntu to Recover Windows files
Done_Fishin is offline  
Old 06-28-2018, 06:11 AM   #3
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,468
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


Quote:
All I know about my old laptop is it is a Compaq. I can post a serial number if that is useful here.
There's no model number on the notebook?

How old is the old notebook?

Unfortunately, the BIOS will only tell how much RAM is installed, not what type. The Gateway uses DDR3 RAM. If the Compaq uses DDR2, don't even try. The slots are not even physically compatible. If you force the wrong type RAM in the slot, you will damage the slot (and likely the RAM too) permanently.

According to the specs and Crucial for the Gateway, it supports up to 8GB DDR3 in a 2 x 4GB configuration. If me, I would just bite the bullet and buy all new 2 x 4GB to ensure total compatibility and dual channel operation.

Even if your Compaq is using DDR3, it is not likely it has the same specs as your Gateway RAM so no guarantee it is compatible with the Gateway motherboard/chipset, or the existing Gateway RAM, or that it will run in dual channel mode.

At the very least, pull the Compaq RAM. Determine if DDR2 or DDR3 as seen here. If DDR2, there is no point in even thinking of trying it.

Before even thinking of touching the RAM in either computer, pull the batteries and unplug the chargers. Then touch bare metal inside the case to discharge any static in your body. Then touch the RAM in the edges - never the electrical contacts.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Black Screen Issues and Troubleshooting
The procedure below is to be carried out once you have addressed any Software, Driver, Malware/Virus or Blue Screen of Death (BSOD) issues or if your laptop does not power on at all. If previous BSOD issues had occured then carry out the following in this link - BSOD Posting Instructions. There...
night_shift Laptop Support 1 10-22-2014 03:52 PM
Laptop not recognizing second RAM slot?
I have a recently bought Toshiba C875 laptop, with Windows 8 64-Bit preinstalled on it. I recently bought extra RAM for this laptop, and although I installed it into the second RAM slot, the computer's "PC Info" will not display that it has any more RAM than the original amount. I know for a fact...
poof Laptop Support 1 01-14-2013 05:44 PM
Unable to Install LAN Driver & universal serial Bus controller
the main problem I having now is my computer suddenly unable to use LAN to connect the internet, and I also unable to find the Local area network inside my networking sharing center. When I try to download the driver from Asus and the installation are not successfully and pop out unable to detect...
Lee1988 Driver Support 19 02-16-2012 12:40 PM
Odd laptop motherboard/RAM issue
Hello all, I'm a new member here looking for some assistance with an HP laptop that I have. I posted my issues in another forum, so please forgive me for copying and pasting my problem. ORIGINAL ISSUE: Alright, well I've got a really strange laptop problem that I'm looking for some...
bobbylx Laptop Support 1 03-06-2011 10:18 PM
Selecting RAM for your Laptop
Introduction: The type of RAM a laptop takes can usually be determined by what processor it has. The processor is always easy to tell, to find out, download a free utility called PC Wizard. This utility will tell you your information about your computer, including your CPU and its model number....
TheMatt Laptop Support 1 11-26-2006 11:25 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts