Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Help me find a laptop memory

This is a discussion on Help me find a laptop memory within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have HP ProBook 6460B (B0L67PA) https://mobilespecs.net/laptop/HP/HP...B_B0L67PA.html I want to add memory to the laptop, but I donít know which


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-29-2020, 10:29 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 1
OS:



I have HP ProBook 6460B (B0L67PA)

https://mobilespecs.net/laptop/HP/HP...B_B0L67PA.html

I want to add memory to the laptop, but I donít know which one to choose?
I'm looking for 4GB module, and the laptop allows me to do this
it has a free slot
Alesoles33 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-29-2020, 10:37 AM   #2
Windows Tech Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 605
OS: Windows 10 Pro, 64-bit, Version 1909

My System


Your best bet is to either go to Crucial's website and use their system scanner and/or Kingston's website, memory page and use their Search by System/Device option.

Either one will give you the information about the exact type of memory module you need. I personally like the Crucial scanner as it will tell you exactly what's currently in your system as well as the maximum it can take, and how you would split that across slots.

You can buy any brand you like, the information given by either site specifies the memory type and configuration that is applicable to any memory manufacturer.
__________________
Brian
It is better to be hated for what you are than to be loved for what you are not.
~ Andrť Gide
britechguy is offline  
Old 01-29-2020, 11:17 AM   #3
Moderator, Editor, Articles Team
 
Deejay100six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Doncaster, Great Britain
Posts: 11,785
OS: Windows 7 Professional SP1

My System


Hi, and welcome to TSF.

May also be worth mentioning that ram works better if installed in matching pairs.

What I'm saying is, if you can afford it, you'd be better to buy 2x4gb rather than trying to match what you already have.
__________________
Regards, Dave.


Submit New Articles Here

Help us to help you by posting your System Specs
Deejay100six is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-30-2020, 12:22 AM   #4
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,179
OS: win 10 Home



From the HP support pages


Standard:
DDR3 PC3-10600 SDRAM (1333 MHz)
Two SODIMM slots supporting dual-channel memory
2GB, 4GB, and 8GB SODIMMs
Maximum: Upgradeable to 16GB with 8GB SODIMMs in slots 1 and 2
Dual-channel: Maximized dual-channel performance requires SODIMMs of the same size and speed in both memory slots.

Found here https://support.hp.com/gb-en/document/c02774931
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts