Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Help Getting New PSU

This is a discussion on Help Getting New PSU within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I have a dell Optiplex GX280. Small Desktop Computer model. It needs new PSU upgrade from the old 210


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-17-2008, 09:56 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
richie01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 87
OS: Windows XP Professional


Laugh

Hi, I have a dell Optiplex GX280.
Small Desktop Computer model.

It needs new PSU upgrade from the old 210 watt one.
Someone recommended to me before that I get the silencer 470 dell PSU.
As shown in this URL
Three questions

1. This power supply wont fit in my small desktop case, saw a post before on someone with the same computer and they where talking about mounting outside of the case. How do you do that? I mean do you just have it plugged in and leave the case open or what?

2. is the Silencer 470 Dell PSU really my only option, keeping in mind I need at least 450 watts for my ATI Radeon HIS X1550 graphics cards.

3. Is it possible to get this PSU or another for my dell under $50 Australian? anyone know of any good AU price comparison websites?
richie01 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-17-2008, 10:31 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
richie01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 87
OS: Windows XP Professional



Basically or most importantly I want to find one for $50-$60.
And I'm pretty sure I could get away with using a 400 watt PSU I would have to check though.

And I want to know if it's ok (I dont care what it looks like) to have it not sitting exactly inside the case.
richie01 is offline  
Old 06-18-2008, 12:12 AM   #3
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



with psu's you get what you pay for
https://shop.pcpower.com/products/de...ell/index.html
you will probably have to scour the country to find someone who stocks one



dai is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-19-2008, 01:18 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
richie01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 87
OS: Windows XP Professional



Well I managed to find the 450 watt one for $66 only $10 to get it delivered to AUS.
https://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/re...0&linkCode=asn
At amazon.
The only thing I am worried about is the PSU will not fit inside my Small desktop case.
So I have to try and work out something to have it outside the case or something.
Since I don't really like the idea of hacking up my case :P
But if the PSU is outside the case I don't see how the cords would reach far enough.
I mean I can have the case open and have the PSU just sitting there, the system unit is safely under my computer desk.

Any ideas or anything on setting it up would be greatly appreciated.
richie01 is offline  
Old 06-19-2008, 08:13 AM   #5
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



extend the cords



dai is offline  
Old 06-20-2008, 05:08 PM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8
OS:



If computer stores where you are are anything like around here, it would be cheaper to buy a new case rather extensions for all the cords. I bought a case new off ebay for 50$ with shipping. There are tons of them. It works very well, and looks good(even has an LCD display for fan speeds and an alarm clock built in.
byrddawg is offline  
Old 06-22-2008, 05:37 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
richie01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 87
OS: Windows XP Professional



Yeah it is probably cheaper to do that.
But I have never attached a motherboard to case, or taken one out of a case.
I could look into it though.
But if it was ruffly the same price or there abouts, I would probably rather extend the cables unless I can transfer to the new case without much risk.
richie01 is offline  
Old 06-22-2008, 07:50 PM   #8
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



it's a simple operation to remove and replace a m/board just take your time
https://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/145



dai is offline  
Old 06-24-2008, 06:11 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
richie01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 87
OS: Windows XP Professional



Hmmm.. Thanks.
I do have a case here from my old computer but I'm not sure if it is
compatible.
richie01 is offline  
Old 06-24-2008, 06:23 PM   #10
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



as long as it's atx



dai is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 07:02 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
richie01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 87
OS: Windows XP Professional



Whats atx? :P
it's an old Optima case made probably not long before this dell I have now.
richie01 is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 11:38 PM   #12
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



on an atx case the sockets on the back are vertical
on an at they are horizontal,i would doubt it is an at case



dai is offline  
Old 06-26-2008, 06:10 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
richie01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 87
OS: Windows XP Professional



ummm.. I'm not sure I might take a pic of it and post it.

it looks like vertical though, the motherboard sits in the case vertical ways.

I think the sockets can go both ways by the looks of it two are not used.
richie01 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts