Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Help choosing the right RAM

This is a discussion on Help choosing the right RAM within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I'm working on my first build, I have all the parts I know I want, but I am unsure


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-20-2009, 09:51 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 48
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit, PCLinuxOS, Windows XP, openSUSE



Hi, I'm working on my first build, I have all the parts I know I want, but I am unsure on RAM. I will be going with 8GB of RAM, seeing the fact that on my old computer I frequently maxed 4GB out.

Here is the motherboard: ASUS pq5 pro turbo
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131377

And the processor if you need it: Intel quad core 3.0GHz
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115130

I'm looking for a good reliable product, that will work out of the box with the motherboard, and is not way too pricy.

Thanks for any help
Xarune is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-20-2009, 11:00 AM   #2
Troubled
 
Phædrus241's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 4,862
OS: Vista Ultimate x64 SP1

My System


What were you doing to max out 4GB?


For the longest time, OCZ was selling my kit (4GB DDR2 1066) at $51, but now they've bumped up the price to match Corsair's price.


What's your definition of pricey? 8GB DDR2 800 from one of the top brands is going to run you about $130, minimum, and maybe $110 from one of the lesser brands.
Phædrus241 is offline  
Old 09-20-2009, 11:30 AM   #3
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



I am also curious to know what application maxed out 4GB of RAM and what are the stats on that RAM?
4GB of RAM will run any application that I am aware of.
Two ways to get 8GB of RAM on that Mobo would be to fill all 4 RAM slots and that is not advisable. The other is 2 X 4GB sticks and those are WAY overpriced.



Tyree is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-20-2009, 11:38 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 48
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit, PCLinuxOS, Windows XP, openSUSE



I maxed out 4GB RAM playing WoW, running outlook, a browser with a decent amount of tabs, and Microsoft word. It wasn't very good RAM, but this system will likely be handling 3D modeling software so I just really don't want to max it out. Not too expensive would be under $200 hopefully. Getting the extra RAM is also well inside my budget.
Xarune is offline  
Old 09-20-2009, 11:59 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 48
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit, PCLinuxOS, Windows XP, openSUSE



My other question is how do the two numbers (DDR2 XXXX) on the motherboard and RAM need to match up? Is it the number on the motherboard can be higher, or the number on the RAM?
Xarune is offline  
Old 09-20-2009, 12:18 PM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
OS:



You want DDR2 PC28500 or DDR2 PC26400, it really doesn't matter, RAM speed and latency has little real world consequence. Go with a decent brand (corsair, OCZ, G Skill, Kingston, patriot, buffallo, Geil, Crucial and probably more!) and pick whatever is a good deal.

That CPU is also horribly overpriced in the current climate, with the release of i5 you should look in that direction, unless you've already bought of course!
Helior is offline  
Old 09-20-2009, 12:29 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 48
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit, PCLinuxOS, Windows XP, openSUSE



How does the i5 Compare against the older Quad Cores?
Xarune is offline  
Old 09-20-2009, 12:42 PM   #8
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
OS:



i5 is faster, cheaper, and the P55 socket 1156 platform is much more future proof, you will need a differant motherboard and DDR3 RAM though of course.
Helior is offline  
Old 09-20-2009, 12:44 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 48
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit, PCLinuxOS, Windows XP, openSUSE



Even though the i5 itself is cheaper, wouldn't the RAM and the Motherboard prices end up making it more expensive because the models are newer and fewer?
Xarune is offline  
Old 09-20-2009, 12:59 PM   #10
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
OS:



https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-401-_-Product

https://www.newegg.com/Shopping/Shopp...82E16819115215

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227346 (two of these)

That comes to 479 which is a fair bit less than what you would pay for the Q9650.
Helior is offline  
Old 09-20-2009, 03:49 PM   #11
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Xarune View Post
Even though the i5 itself is cheaper, wouldn't the RAM and the Motherboard prices end up making it more expensive because the models are newer and fewer?
Yes it would be more expensive, you have the DDR3 RAM issues to deal with and you won't see near enough performance gain to justify the increased cost.
The i5 is also a new platform that is bound to have problems.
4GB of good quality RAM is more than sufficient to run any game or app.
OCZ-Corsair-G.Skill are good performance RAM. A 2X2GB matched pair of PC6400, PC8500 if you're going to OC heavily, would be fine.
For gaming and general PC usage, a Dual Core CPU would have been a better choice.



Tyree is offline  
Old 09-20-2009, 03:56 PM   #12
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Helior View Post
Asus P5Q Turbo $135
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 $168
2X2GB OCZ PC6400 $66
Better performance for less.



Tyree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts