Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Half of the Ram detected by PC

9K views 14 replies 4 participants last post by  mcorton 
#1 · (Edited)
Greetings fellow gamers, tech guys (staff members and amateurs). Now this will be normal post and a normal problem, identified by many users. I just bought this 1GB DDR1 Ram stick. I had once a stick of 256 MB of Ram (DDR1) and then added one more stick of 256 MB of ram (DDR1). After a time I decided to buy another stick. So I bought this one. I have 2 slots for Ram Memory. Replaced one of the 256 MB of Ram stick with the 1GB Ram stick. And surprise! It is only showing 768 Mb of Ram. Switched their places, but still nothing. Removed the 256 MB of Ram stick. Now it was showing only 512 MB of Ram. Tried to "update" my bios. But I got a bit . . . stuck. As I am not an expert in PC 's I did not wanted to do anything stupid. It was made by A.M.I. (American Megatrends Inc.) My specs, so far, are:

ASRock K7VT4A+
AMD Sempron(tm)2200+ ~1.5GHz
1GB Ram (512 read only)
DirectX 9.0c
NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 128 MB
C-Media Wave Device

Visited the site of ASRock for info. And my motherboard supports a maximum of 2GB of Ram and a maximum of 1GB per slot. Can you please try to help me? Did all my best.

Edit: Some more details of my motherboard.

184-pin DIMM Banking: 2 (2 banks of 1)
Chipset: VIA Apollo KT400A
Error Detection Support: Non-ECC only
Graphics Support: AGP 8X
Max Component Density: 512Mb
Max Unbuffered DDR SDRAM: 2048MB
Module Types Supported: Unbuffered only
Supported DRAM Types: DDR SDRAM only
USB Support: 2.x Compliant

Each memory slot can hold DDR PC2700, DDR PC3200 with a maximum of 1GB per slot.
Do I have to install matching pairs?
No.
No, you can install modules one at a time, and you can mix different densities of modules in your computer. But if your computer supports dual-channel memory configurations, you should install in identical pairs (preferably in kits) for optimal performance.