User Tag List

Freezes

This is a discussion on Freezes within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I have been experiencing full pc freezes tonight, but only when im afk so far, whilst I have been


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-22-2017, 02:57 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
katchin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lancaster, England
Posts: 225
OS: Windows 7 64

My System


Hi, I have been experiencing full pc freezes tonight, but only when im afk so far, whilst I have been actively using the pc, it hasn't frozen so far, or maybe this is a coincidence.

I am trying here on my phone, whilst on pass 3 of memtest, and so far I have received 1 error, at the end of pass 2.

Last week I had a 3tb seagaye barracuda die on me, no idea if connected, but thought I should mention it.

Is that (so far) 1 error on memtest likely to be the problem?

Simon

Intel I5-3570k @3.4GHz,
Asus Sabretooth
16gb Corsair DDR3 1600 xmp
Corsait TX850 psu
Evga 980ti gtx
Seagate 250gb SSD
1tb WD black hdd
2tb WD black hdd
3tb Toshiba hdd
katchin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-23-2017, 06:51 AM   #2
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,468
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


Quote:
and so far I have received 1 error
Well, sadly, any error, even just 1, is not good and indicates bad RAM.

With 16GB, I am assuming you have 2 x 8GB (or 4 x 4GB though likely the former). I recommend you remove 1/2 your RAM and test again and hopefully, through a process of elimination, be able to isolate the problem to a single stick. Just understand that no software based tester is conclusive. RAM can test good and then fail when installed, or when paired with other RAM. That said, if errors are found, the RAM is bad.

Be sure to take the necessary ESD precautions when handling the RAM. Unplug the computer from the wall, touch bare metal of the case interior BEFORE reaching inside the case or touching the RAM to discharge any static in your body. And NEVER EVER touch the RAM's electrical contracts.

While inside your case, make sure it is clean of heat trapping dust and fans spin freely.

Quote:
Last week I had a 3tb seagaye barracuda die on me, no idea if connected, but thought I should mention it.
It may or may not be related but whenever I see multiple unexplained potential hardware problems, I always suspect power.

While not conclusive, you might check your voltages with a PSU Tester. These are good but not conclusive because they don't provide a variety of realistic loads. And they don't test for excessive ripple and other anomalies that affect computer stability. This is done by a qualified technician using an oscilloscope or power supply analyzer - sophisticated (and expensive) electronic test equipment requiring special training to operate, and a basic knowledge of electronics theory to understand the results. Therefore, conclusively testing a power supply is done in properly equipped electronics repair facilities.

You can also check your voltages with HWiNFO64 to make sure they are within the allowed 5% tolerances. But this too is not conclusive.

So for most users, the best test is to swap in a known good PSU. Also, I recommend testing your wall outlets with a AC Outlet Tester to ensure your outlet is properly wired and grounded.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Old 09-23-2017, 07:32 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
katchin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lancaster, England
Posts: 225
OS: Windows 7 64

My System

Hi, thanks for the response. Memtest actually caught a few more errors, so I took the Ram back to the shop (Corsair, so lifetime warranty, good as itwas 5 uears old).
I put the new Ram in, all working fine, went afk, and it froze again. I ran memtest on the new ram, but it was fine, so i'm guessing PSU. I'll swap it with a different one tomorrow and go afk and see how it does.
katchin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-24-2017, 12:17 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
katchin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lancaster, England
Posts: 225
OS: Windows 7 64

My System

Hi again, swapped the PSU for a different Corsair supply that is from a different working machine. Same result, the PC freezes if I dont provide an input.

Any ideas?
katchin is offline  
Old 11-14-2017, 01:58 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Hotlynx16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: usa
Posts: 23
OS: XPsp3, Windows 7 SP1

My System


Have you had a chance to check your voltages and temperatures? Is hibernation on or off? Check your power settings.
Hotlynx16 is offline  
Old 01-13-2018, 02:29 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Texas
Posts: 175
OS: Windows 10



One other thing that hasn't been mentioned is to update all the drivers. The periodic freezing could be due to out of date drivers. Ii do also suspect there's a power issue but nothing wrong with covering all the bases.
K9BEG is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Consistent Freezes, Can't Pin-point Cause
Hello My PC has been consistently freezing for the last couple of months and I have not been able to pin point the cause of the freezes.:banghead: I originally just thought reinstalling windows would fix the problem but it doesn't. I have installed Windows 7 Pro 64bit, Windows 8 64bit Pro,...
Nedloh BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 11-25-2013 05:40 PM
Random Computer Freezes
Hi there, I just joined the forum and hope I'd be able to get some help with a frustrating computer issue I've been having for awhile. My situation: I am having a freezing problem on my desktop which is running on Windows XP. While I am using the desktop, it would randomly freeze and nothing...
Jyzl Windows XP Support 14 11-02-2012 08:25 PM
My laptop freezes... Please help me!
I've had this problem for a few month. the screen freezes while able to move the mouse. no way to shutdown except pressing the power button for like 5 seconds or pulling the plug. Here's what I've tried, but failed: 1- virus scans, defragmenting, freeing disk space, checked the temp and fan,...
Kaleidoscope0o BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 20 01-14-2011 04:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts