Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Does this sound right, RAM

This is a discussion on Does this sound right, RAM within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm not a comp wizard but I know enough of the basics to pick RAM even when buying from the


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-02-2008, 04:01 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
OS:



I'm not a comp wizard but I know enough of the basics to pick RAM even when buying from the net. I have a Emachine T3516.

Intel® Celeron® D Processor 352
(3.20GHz, 533MHz FSB, 512KB L2 cache)
Operating System: Genuine Microsoft® Windows® XP Home (SP2)

Chipset: ATI Radeon® Xpress 200
Memory: 512MB DDR (1 × 512MB) 400MHz (PC3200)
Expandable to 2GB
Hard Drive: 120GB (7200rpm, 2MB cache)
Optical Drive: 48x CD-RW/DVD combo drive
Video: ATI Radeon® X200-based integrated graphics
Up to 128MB of shared video memory
PCI-Express® (PCI-E x16) slot available
Sound: 6-channel (5.1) high-definition audio
Network: 10/100Mbps integrated Ethernet LAN (RJ-45 port)
Modem: 56K ITU v.92-ready fax/modem (RJ-11 port)


I bought a 512mb chip a few months ago to bring the comp up to 1gb. All was well. Now I bought 1gb chips PC3200 400MHZ DDR x2, installed them both to upgrade to full 2gb. Darn comp restarts itself over and over. I took out 1 chip to see if defective, same thing happens. Did the same with the other, ditto. So then I looked at the chips. They look the same as the chips i have, fits in same slot, but the label says 1GB 400MHZ 128M. Can someone explain if that means I was sent the wrong chips. I believe I was.
lioness0197 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-02-2008, 04:44 PM   #2
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,072
OS: Win7



Sounds like either defective or incompatible ram Look here for a configurer get the actual part number and do a google search for the best price> www.crucial.com
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 12-02-2008, 05:02 PM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
OS:



LOL i forgot to put the best part, they are high density chips. Are they compatible with the comp I have? Or should I be shopping for the Low's?
lioness0197 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-02-2008, 05:08 PM   #4
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,072
OS: Win7



Low density High is for severs and always much cheaper.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 12-02-2008, 05:22 PM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
OS:



Ty so much. My goof. You are a computer god.
lioness0197 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts