Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Does number of chips on RAM important?

This is a discussion on Does number of chips on RAM important? within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have got a sony laptop with 4gb SODIMM 1333mhz ddr3 RAM. It has got 8 chips on it. I


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-16-2016, 12:01 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 3
OS: win 10



I have got a sony laptop with 4gb SODIMM 1333mhz ddr3 RAM. It has got 8 chips on it. I want to upgrade my RAM. Can i get a RAM with 4 chips in it? Other configuration matches.
pmforfull is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-16-2016, 12:36 PM   #2
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


Yes you can but what is the purpose of all this? I sure hope you aren't asking about adding another completely different ram stick because that answer is no.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 07-16-2016, 01:00 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 3
OS: win 10



No not going to add different one. I am having 4gb RAM now and i am planning to add another 4gb RAM.
pmforfull is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-16-2016, 02:10 PM   #4
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


Right but remember density, cas latency and ecc factor must be the same in other words to add ram for it to work flawlessly it must be the same make and model, not just the same speed.
That is one of the reasons I recommend Crucial site because they guarantee the match and most people just buy anything and then do not understand why it doesn't work.
Crucial.com - DRAM, solid state drive (SSD) memory upgrades for Dell, Mac, Apple, HP, Compaq, Lenovo, Acer, ASUS
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 07-16-2016, 09:12 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 3
OS: win 10



Okay. I will check. Thanks for the suggestion.
pmforfull is offline  
Old 07-17-2016, 10:20 AM   #6
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


Welcome.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 + ATI Radeon HD 4800: BSOD BugCheck 116
Hi. Please help me understanding what is causing my current BSOD(s)! I have given up myself after some weeks of on/off analyses and tries of repairs after reading forum posts (a very lot on this issue exists!). I cannot decode dumps so hopefully someone here can interpret the data...
Cunae BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 8 04-09-2015 10:08 AM
BSOD on brand new PC
First time poster here! Would love fast response. The Computer did not BSOD the first day of usage but did it the second day after about 4 hours from being turned on and the proceeded to BSOD every 2 hours and it became more rapid untill about BSOD every 20 min. OS - Vista/ Windows 7 ?...
Zumzat BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 15 08-28-2012 08:09 AM
down for months
This computer got a virus several months ago. It redirects the browser and doesn't allow me to do a lot of things, so I got frustrated back then and stuck it in the closet. I fired it up this morning, deleted a bunch of programs, and decided to give it another try. Here's the DDS Log: . DDS...
mrcdem Resolved HJT Threads 51 07-05-2012 09:27 AM
Selecting RAM for your Laptop
Introduction: The type of RAM a laptop takes can usually be determined by what processor it has. The processor is always easy to tell, to find out, download a free utility called PC Wizard. This utility will tell you your information about your computer, including your CPU and its model number....
TheMatt Laptop Support 1 11-26-2006 11:25 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts