Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Does my new PSU need to be replaced?

This is a discussion on Does my new PSU need to be replaced? within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. So I needed to purchase a new PSU for my rig (old one was failing, GPU was failing to start,


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-11-2016, 11:20 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 8
OS: Windows Vista SP2



So I needed to purchase a new PSU for my rig (old one was failing, GPU was failing to start, odd smell...it lasted 5 years so I expected it to fail soon).
I ordered a new PSU (Thermaltake Toughpower TPD-0750M) after confirming that 750 watts should be enough to power my system (specs below, my old one was 850 watts).

I installed everything and booted it up and everything seemed to work fine, but after a few days I noticed issues about 50% of the time I booted and 100% of the time when I did a soft reboot.


Issues included: * VERY slow CPU * GPU not starting * Windows error screen (less common)

Nothing else in my system changed...The only sure fire way I've found to "fix" the issue is to disconnect the power cable, hold the power button to reset the charge and plug the cable back in and it will usually boot normally, or restarting manually sometimes works.

Is this just a faulty PSU issue that I should replace?

Specs:
MSI Z77A-GD65 Gaming
Intel Core i5-3570K (Overclocked to 4.2)
EVGA GeForce GTX 960
CORSAIR XMS 8GB DDR3 SDRAM
1 240 GB SSD, 1 TB HDD, 1 320 HDD
Mr. Sunshine is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-11-2016, 11:58 AM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,049
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Your PSU gets really good customer compliments. Try testing with a multi-meter. If you don't have one, Harbor Freight gives them away with coupon and any purchase.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 06-11-2016, 05:46 PM   #3
Networking Team |Tech
 
DBCooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 4,117
OS: Windows 10



Hi there,

Hmmm...try running your CPU at default clock speed and see if the issue still remains.
__________________
Dan Cooper ---> Nov. 24, 1971 + Flight 305 = $200,000.


DBCooper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-11-2016, 05:58 PM   #4
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,762
OS: Windows 7

My System


This will sound weird but it is true (from my experience)

Some times when you over clock a system then at some point down the line replace the psu things can get screwy. I dont know why it happens and have never heard of anyone else it happening to. But as said above reset your overclock see if everything is ok then re do your overclock.
__________________
Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 06-12-2016, 06:29 AM   #5
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,468
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


Quote:
This will sound weird but it is true (from my experience)

Some times when you over clock a system then at some point down the line replace the psu things can get screwy. I dont know why it happens and have never heard of anyone else it happening to. But as said above reset your overclock see if everything is ok then re do your overclock.
Actually, I think it makes perfect sense.

Power supplies rarely output exactly +12.00VDC, +5.00VDC or +3.30VDC. In fact, according to the ATX Form Factor standard, those voltages are allowed to vary up to a tolerance of ±5%. That means PSU voltages can vary as follows:
12VDC ±5% = 11.4 to 12.6VDC
5VDC ±5% = 4.75 to 5.25VDC
3.3VDC ±5% = 3.14 to 3.47VDC
It is safe to assume the voltages of your old PSU and your new PSU were not exactly the same. For example, the 12V for your old might have been +11.6VDC and for your new +12.3VDC. +4.81V for the old, 5.22V for the new.

The motherboard regulator/divider circuits attempt to compensate based on the incoming voltages. Overclocking is done by making tiny adjustments to voltages applied to the overclocked components. When you change the input voltages by swapping power supplies, the resulting output voltages to the various components are changed, albeit very slightly, too. But very slight changes to the voltages are all it takes to move an overclocked component from a stable state to an unstable state. So whenever you change power supplies, you should reset your clocks and start over with the overclocking process.

I agree your new TT PSU is highly rated (or at least the 650W and the 850W in that same line are highly rated) and 750W is more than enough horsepower for your installed components. Of course, until Man can create perfection 100% of the time, even the best maker can have an out-of-tolerance sample that sneak past quality assurance, or fail prematurely.

I am not a fan of using a multimeter for testing PSUs. They just are not conclusive enough. For one, power supplies must be tested under a variety of realistic loads - from idle to 100% capacity while operating at the rated operating temperature. For that TT PSU, that is 40°C at full power. This means sticking highly conductive and very sharp meter probes into live connectors while the computer is running a variety of tasks. This is a risky procedure for experts as well as amateurs.

Also, the vast majority of multimeters cannot test for excessive ripple and other anomalies that affect computer stability.

To conclusively test a PSU, it needs to be done by a qualified technician using an oscilloscope or power supply analyzer - sophisticated (and expensive) electronic test equipment requiring special training to operate, and a basic knowledge of electronics theory to understand the results. Therefore, conclusively testing a power supply is done in properly equipped electronics repair facilities.

Of course, most "normal" users don't have access to such test equipment anyway. Their only conclusive option is to swap in a known good PSU.

So I recommend you (1) verify all your connectors are securely fastened. And recheck all other cables and wires too to make sure they were not disturbed when you swapped supplies. Then (2) reset your clocks and see what happens. If still having problems after that, you need to try yet another PSU.

If still having problems with a 3rd PSU and default clocks, then I would be worried the first PSU that failed may have damaged something connected to it!

Oh, also, make sure your case is doing its job of providing an adequate supply of cool air flowing through the case. This is critical, but especially critical when overclocking.

One final comment. Holding the power button down with the power cord removed does nothing, contrary to popular belief (on PCs anyway - notebooks are a different story). That "myth" came out the ancient past with "AT" Form Factor systems used with the original IBM PCs when the case's power button was actually direct connected via a wiring harness that ran directly back to the "AT" power supply.

The ATX Form Factor standard changed all that way back in 1996!!!! This is when ATX cases started using "remote" (not direct connected) power switches that connected to "momentary" circuits on ATX motherboards. Momentary means once the push is registered by the logic circuit it is connected to, any further input is ignored until the switch is pressed again. There are no storage capacitors in that circuit to bleed off or reset.

So, just unplugging the PSU from the wall for 10 seconds or so is enough to ensure any residual voltages are fully degraded. And technically, the better solution is to flip the master power switch on the back of the PSU to off ("0")while leaving the power cable connected to the wall. This then provides a path to Earth ground for any residual voltages stored in an capacitors to fully discharge quickly and properly. Of course, this assumes the PSU has not been physically damaged, the power cord is in good repair, and the wall outlet is properly wired and grounded to Earth ground. To verify that, every home owner and computer user should have access to a AC Outlet Tester to ensure your outlet is properly wired and grounded.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Old 06-12-2016, 08:34 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 8
OS: Windows Vista SP2



Thank you all for the replies! I am using the OC Genie setting within my bios rather than manually adjusting clocks (shameful, I know), I tried resetting the configuration there to auto-adjust so hopefully there shouldn't be any more issues.

If it still gives me issue I'll try sending in for a new PSU . Thank you all for the help!!
Mr. Sunshine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cooler Master EX2 625 PSU Fan Weird Sound & Moving Slowly
Sorry, this question might sounds silly. Earlier when I first switched on my PC, I noticed a weird sound, something like brrr.. brrr.. brrr.. and I noticed that it comes from the PSU fan. When I touched the PSU case, it seems to vibrate a little when the fan was making the weird sound. At...
vista87 RAM and Power Supply Support 5 11-16-2014 06:27 AM
[SOLVED] Graphics card or PSU problem?
Hi there, I was just wondering if anyone could help me. Me PC for the last couple of days has been crashing (mostly while gaming) and I'm not sure if the problem is caused either by the Graphics card or PSU. Here are my system specs (self-built): PNY GeForce 9800 GX2 Unbranded (was pretty...
Tom1122 Video Card Support 5 07-18-2011 10:03 AM
new PSU won't turn on.
Is there something I must do for a brand new PSU to turn on? Like simply plugging in the power cord, wait a few minutes or so till enough power is collected in the psu? Well I just plugged in my PSU earlier today after receiving it a few days ago after plugging in the power cord. I've tried several...
heyitskin RAM and Power Supply Support 8 01-01-2011 08:03 AM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts