Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Did i get wrong RAMs or is something else wrong?

This is a discussion on Did i get wrong RAMs or is something else wrong? within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I just bought some more RAMs for an old computer of mine, but when slotted in, the computer just keeps


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-07-2020, 02:29 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 4
OS:



I just bought some more RAMs for an old computer of mine, but when slotted in, the computer just keeps beeping and not booting?

The old RAMs: 4x2RAM with this written on them 2RX8 PC2-6400U-666-12-E3

These are the new RAMs: 16GB KIT DDR2 667MHZ ECC/REG KIT OF 2x 8GB DIMM (MMH9677/16GB) Modelnr.: MMH9677/16GB

The black block is the new 8GB the green is the old 2GB https://imgur.com/EAEddEV

Some system info: https://imgur.com/a/o1TyY13 HP - Compaq dc7800 Series Small Form Factor

Ive been told it could be due to some BIOS settings, but im very hesitant to reset the BIOS for obvious reasons.

My plan was to replace old 2 x 2GB RAM sticks with new 2 x 8GB RAMs. But ack not working for some reason, halp please
KalleNi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-07-2020, 03:22 AM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 13,019
OS: windows 10

My System


hi your max for this machine is 8 GB 2gb per slot check it out here https://www.crucial.com/usa/en/compa...#MEMORYFilters
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is online now  
Old 02-07-2020, 03:31 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 4
OS:



Ugh that sucks. Is the only way to fix this to get a new motherboard?
KalleNi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-07-2020, 03:33 AM   #4
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 13,019
OS: windows 10

My System


yep or just get the correct ram edit see you already have max ram
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is online now  
Old 02-07-2020, 03:34 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 4
OS:



Im confused, didnt you say it wasnt the RAM but the fact that the slots only take max 2GB and 8GB in total?
KalleNi is offline  
Old 02-07-2020, 03:37 AM   #6
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 13,019
OS: windows 10

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by KalleNi View Post
Im confused, didnt you say it wasnt the RAM but the fact that the slots only take max 2GB and 8GB in total?
I had edit my last post I see you already have maxed out your ram. why do you need more than that?
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is online now  
Old 02-07-2020, 03:41 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 4
OS:



Why? 8GB arent really too much, and im frequently finding my docker containers need more than this.

Thanks for your answer about the limit though, guess ill return these RAMs i bought, cheers! :)
KalleNi is offline  
Old 02-07-2020, 03:41 AM   #8
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 13,019
OS: windows 10

My System


your welcome
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts