Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Conflict? RAM with different latency and MHz

This is a discussion on Conflict? RAM with different latency and MHz within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have an ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 mobo with 3 triple channel sticks of 2GB RAM at 1333 and CL9.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-19-2016, 11:28 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 2
OS: Vista (Win 10 tomorrow)



I have an ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 mobo with 3 triple channel sticks of 2GB RAM at 1333 and CL9. They have served me faithfully for 7 years. Now, I am adding 4GBx3 sticks running at 1600 with CL11. My question is... Am I able to keep the old sticks (to have 18GB) if I keep them in their appropriate triple channel slots, or will there be issues with one set being CL9 vs CL11 and the MHz being 1333 vs 1600? Thank you in advance everyone.

Lance
Okugi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-19-2016, 11:54 PM   #2
TSF - Enthusiast
 
gcavan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 7,670
OS: Vista x64 SP2

My System


No way to be certain of any issues without trying it out. If the PC boots and runs, it will most likely run all memory at the slower speed and latency. It may be necessary to manually adjust the memory settings from within system BIOS.
__________________
Defending freedom of expression in the face of oppression is noble.
Insisting on the right to be obnoxious and offensive just because you can is infantile.
gcavan is offline  
Old 03-20-2016, 11:45 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 2
OS: Vista (Win 10 tomorrow)



Thank you for your quick reply. I will give it a try.
Okugi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-21-2016, 09:30 AM   #4
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,468
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


I agree. Try it and see. The worse that can happen is your computer will fail to boot. But no damage should occur so simply removing the new RAM should restore everything back to normal.

Just make sure you unplug the computer from the wall and touch bare metal of the case interior before reaching in or coming anywhere near the RAM to avoid damage through ESD (electro-static discharge). And of course, don't touch the electrical contacts of the RAM sticks.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Old 03-21-2016, 09:39 AM   #5
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,049
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Wrong RAM usually produces beeps at startup.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird texture shards in certain games
Hi everyone, I have been having an issue with certain games, namely Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4 and most recently Star Wars Battlefront, where weird flickering texture shards pop up constantly. This problem was a slight nuisance in Battlefield 3 and 4 but when I tried to play Star Wars...
Elphis PC Gaming Support 4 10-13-2015 10:50 AM
Computer Issues Driving Me Up a Wall
Ello all, I'm having a bit of an issue with my computer. Anyway, I'm having an issue with my computer, and I can't seem to figure out what's wrong with it. What will happen is that I'll watch a video (either on Twitch.tv, YouTube, or even Amazon.com) on Google Chrome and everything will be...
DustinVlad Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 4 07-21-2015 03:05 PM
Haswell i7 4770k hits 100C with stock clocks
Hi, I recently bought an i7 4770k and ran prime 95 on it. Whether I was using the stock HSF or an older tower HSF I have with heatpipes, it idles around 35C and hits 100C at load before the CPU throttles down. I haven't overclocked it and I was wondering if the CPU could be faulty. mobo MSI...
osterac Motherboards, Bios & CPU 33 06-21-2013 10:56 AM
BSOD, now gpu not working?
hello and thx in advance. im an avid gamer and sometimes i leave my computer on to download game updates and whatnot, while i was waiting i took a nap. woke up a few hours later to a BSOD. ive had them before(just a couple times), didnt think it was a big deal. restarted my computer and...
haxr4n00bs Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 37 10-22-2012 01:50 AM
Questions about RAM timings on two old pc..etc.
Hello:wave:; I am quite new here:smooch:. Friend encouraged me to ask here so here goes :) First time to use Everest Ultimate on a pc(EVEREST v4.60.1500PX). And I just wanna ask for explanations on a couple of old pc's have concerning memory timings. I seem to wonder why the old P4 (with only...
CurlyGirly RAM and Power Supply Support 7 03-18-2011 11:17 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts