Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Computer won't turn on.. power supply problem?

This is a discussion on Computer won't turn on.. power supply problem? within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi there, I've been using my computer quite happily for about 2 years with absolutely zero problems, it's been great.

Closed Thread

Old 10-19-2009, 04:48 PM   #1

EEK!

Hi there, I've been using my computer quite happily for about 2 years with absolutely zero problems, it's been great. However today, middle of playing Fallout 3, and bam, computer and a fair few nearby electronic devices turn off to. Now the computer won't turn on, not even a flicker of life. Here are the specs:

# Processor: Intel QuadCore Q6700 2.66GHz, 8MB L2 Cache, 1066MHZ FSB
# Memory: 4GB XMS Pro Corsair RAM 6400 800MHz
# HDD Capacity: 1TB (2x500GB) 7200RPM Raid 0 Configuration
# Graphics Card: nVidia 768MB 8800 Ultra Graphics Card
# Operating System: Windows Vista Ultimate
# Optical Drive: 18x Speed DVD +/-RW
# Audio: Creative X-Fi Fidelity Xtreme Gamer Sound Card
# Networking: Killer NIC Gaming Network Interface Card
# Power & Cooling: 850W PSU & Ice Cube Cooling Device
# Motherboard: ASUS P5N32-E SLI (NVIDIA nForce i680) motherboard

Now in my limited experience (I'm bit rusty with tech support nowadays since everything had been going right for so long...), I assume the power supply has blown since I can't get a single response from it. Here's some more indepth details for the power supply:
https://www.cwt.com.tw/english/2_prod...ail.php?ID=950

So firstly, what do I do now?
Try and replace that part?
With something newer?
I'm desperate to know if all my hard drives and data is a write off, what are my chances?
Anyway I can test to see if it's just the power supply is dead?