Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Computer turning itself off

This is a discussion on Computer turning itself off within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I built myself a new computer last year and recently I've had a problem with my computer just turning itself


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-27-2008, 05:57 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
OS:



I built myself a new computer last year and recently I've had a problem with my computer just turning itself off, as if someone as just held the power button in until it turns off.

90% of the time, it's usually while I'm playing a game of some sort (fullscreen or not). I've had Everest running since it started happening and I thought I'd change my power supply (Coolmaster RealPower 550W Modular) and it's still just turning itself off.

I've ordered some new Thermal Compound which will be arriving in a couple of days and I'm going to give it a bit of dust out inside my case and put some new compound on and see if that works, but has anyone experienced anything similar and found a solution, becuase it's starting to become quite annoying.

Thanks
Segoat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-27-2008, 06:56 AM   #2
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



what are you running
video card
cpu
m/board
ram
power supply
brand
wattage

check the listings in the bios for voltages and temperatures and post them

starting with cleaning out the dust with a can of air and redoing the paste is a good place to start

https://www.arcticsilver.com/arctic_s...structions.htm



dai is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 07:47 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
OS:



video card - 8800GT GDDR3 512MB
cpu - Core 2 Duo E4500 2.2Ghz
m/board - Asus P5N-E SLi
ram - 2GB (2 x 1GB) Corsair XMS2 DDR2
power supply
brand - Coolmaster RealPower M620
wattage - 620W

Temps/Voltages from EVEREST (I'll have a look at the Voltages and Temps in the BIOS later and post)

Temps
Motherboard - 37c
CPU - 43c
CPU (Core 1) - 48c
CPU (Core 2) - 46c
GPU - 54c (this varies between 60 and 70c when I have games running)
GPU Memory - 46c
GPU Ambient - 44c
Internal HDD - 38c
External HDD - 26c

Fans
CPU - 2027RPM
GPU - 768RPM (30%)

Voltages
CPU Core - 1.31v
+3.3v - 3.30v
+5v - 4.81v
+12v - 12.10v
+5v standby - 5.00v
VBAT Battery - 3.14v
GPU Vcc - 3.29v
Segoat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-27-2008, 07:52 AM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



see if the paste fixes it
you can monitor your temps during the game with this

https://www.download.com/Core-Temp/30...-10794077.html

the temps look like it is your problem



dai is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 08:06 AM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
OS:



Ok I'll give that a try. The paste should be arriving Monday with my new Monitor so I'll apply it then and give my case a good clean out.

Just checked all the Voltages and Temps in the BIOS and they're the same as EVEREST. I'll post back when I've cleaned it out and applied the paste.
Segoat is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 06:12 AM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
OS:



you have a faulty ram.
change it.
i had a similar problem that was solved after changing the ram.

heres my thread

https://www.techsupportforum.com/f210...es-328741.html
OptimusSS is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 07:04 AM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
OS:



Gave my case a really good clean out and put some MX2 Compound on my processor and my CPU temps dropped massively. I'll keep you posted if it happens again but thanks for the help Dai, it seems to have fixed my problem.

And with regards to Optimus' comment, my problem seems to be slightly different to the one you had. My computer wasn't displaying error messages or blue screening, it was just instantly powering off, like I just pulled the plug out of the wall. After watching CoreTemp it did seem to be my CPU overheating.
Segoat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts