Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Computer restarts while playing UT3

This is a discussion on Computer restarts while playing UT3 within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have this problem also whilest playing UT3 it restarts. I have: 2.4ghz core 2 duo ATI Radeon 3870 x


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-14-2010, 09:55 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
OS:



I have this problem also whilest playing UT3 it restarts.

I have:

2.4ghz core 2 duo
ATI Radeon 3870 x 2 (running crossfire)
4gb dd3 ram
600w power supply

28-32 degrees idle
35-45 degrees whilest playing
So thats not a worry

I think its the 600w power supply tbh coz i did have a 750w one and it worked fine but that was a crappy 750w one with no brand so i think thats why that broke, So i put my spare 600w EZcool one in.

But before i waste money buying a new one anyone know for deffo the PSU will be the problem.

I have all the latest drivers updated and that.
brearley147 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-14-2010, 10:27 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 9,127
OS: Windows 10

My System


That PSU has 14A on the 12V rail, which is a little low.

Shutting down randomly is typically a sign of a bad or failing PSU, so you should consider buying a new one, or borrowing one from a friend.
Corsair 650W is one I recommend buying.
-WOLF- is offline  
Old 01-14-2010, 12:18 PM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
OS:



If i do buy another im going for a 1000w iCute one coz i will be upgrading my board + new cards soon..

But yeah i will see if i can borrow a PSU so see if thats the actual problem. but im sure it is coz it only happened since i had to change.
brearley147 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-14-2010, 03:36 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 9,127
OS: Windows 10

My System


We strongly recommend not going to go for the 'iCute' one, because that is of inadequate quality and will not give you anywhere close to 1000W of power, and will fail quickly.

Corsair and Thermaltake Toughpower are your best (and really only) options.
-WOLF- is offline  
Old 01-15-2010, 03:10 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,220
OS: Windows XP SP 3

My System


As 5NIPER said, buying a low quality PSU is basically just throwing money down the drain. You should never cheap out on your PSU, because it will cost you a whole lot more in the long run.
Lord Sirian is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts