Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Computer restarting when I play a full screen game for about 5 mins?

This is a discussion on Computer restarting when I play a full screen game for about 5 mins? within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Well I've been playing a game called silkroad and it's a full screen game but after about 5 mins of


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-09-2008, 08:37 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 160
OS: Windows 7 (7600) x64 MSDN /legit



Well I've been playing a game called silkroad and it's a full screen game but after about 5 mins of playing it shuts itself down.

I'm not sure if this is a problem with the power supply or ram.

I also tried doing the memtest but nothing was wrong.

Does anybody know how I can fix this?
Milk Rulz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-09-2008, 10:28 PM   #2
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



what are you running
video card
cpu
m/board
ram
power supply
brand
wattage

check the listings in the bios for voltages and temperatures and post them



dai is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 05:06 AM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 7,075
OS: xp pro SP3

My System


try it with the side off and a fan blowing in.

if you have a substandard supply installed-

Seasonic – Any Model
Corsair – Any Model
PC Power & Cooling – Any Model
Thermaltake – “Toughpower” Series Only
Coolermaster – “Real Power Pro” Series Only

https://www.techsupportforum.com/f210...on-192217.html
speedster123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-10-2008, 07:42 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

overheating will cause auto shutdowns .............. download sensorsview pro (30 day trial) then game for about 3-4 minutes and escape to the desktop and report your system temps

https://www.stvsoft.com/
linderman is offline  
Old 12-17-2008, 03:02 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 160
OS: Windows 7 (7600) x64 MSDN /legit



The fan is alright. I say alright because when I start the computer it makes a very loud noise but is then fine.

I tested the temperature and it sits at about 50 on a game where it is about 48 not on a game. When my fan used to be clogged with dust and overheat it used to just simply shut itself down, where my computer is restarting itself. This also happens when I insert some disks or play a game from some disks, and of course.. booting from disks.

Another problem I have that I have posted once before is my graphics card is not being read due to trying to boot the windows vista installer one time and half way through installation then restarting itself.

I'm pretty sure it is not due to heat because it sometimes happens as soon as I start a game from disk.

If there is any other information that will help my situation that I can provide please let me know.
Milk Rulz is offline  
Old 12-17-2008, 05:48 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

Quote:
Originally Posted by dai View Post
what are you running
video card
cpu
m/board
ram
power supply
brand
wattage

check the listings in the bios for voltages and temperatures and post them



??????????????????????
linderman is offline  
Old 12-17-2008, 03:22 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 160
OS: Windows 7 (7600) x64 MSDN /legit



Quote:
Originally Posted by Milk Rulz View Post
I'm running windows vista utlimate.

I have an ATI Radeon X1300 series (I think)
Intel Pentium 4 3.2ghz
1gb of ram
Power supply: Wall socket connected to a extension with a built in battery backup if that's what you mean.
Can't remember what brand the power supply is.

Temps:
CPU Temp: 45-47°C/114°F
Computer Shutdown Temp: 85°
System Temp: 51°C/122°F
Fan speed 3300-3440 RPM

Voltages:

Vcore: 1.32GV
+3.3V:3.092
+5.0V:5.08
+2.0V:11.762
+5V3B:5.026V

My graphics card addapter is set as: PEG/IGD



If there is anymore information you need to know let me know.

Although I am now running Windows XP Pro SP3
Milk Rulz is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 12:03 AM   #8
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



you will have to take the side off to see the label on the psu for the details
your system temp is high blow the dust out with a can of air
your 12v line is well down see if you can borrow a larger wattage psu to try in it



dai is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 05:13 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 160
OS: Windows 7 (7600) x64 MSDN /legit



Do you think possibly just buying a new power supply and graphics card will solve my problem?
Milk Rulz is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 07:33 AM   #10
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



do the psu first



dai is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 04:06 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 160
OS: Windows 7 (7600) x64 MSDN /legit



What size would you recommend?
Milk Rulz is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 06:33 PM   #12
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...corsair%2b450w



dai is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 10:40 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 160
OS: Windows 7 (7600) x64 MSDN /legit



Isn't that site American?
Milk Rulz is offline  
Old 12-19-2008, 05:42 AM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

Quote:
Originally Posted by Milk Rulz View Post
Isn't that site American?





yes that site is american .......... he supplied that link to give you a make, model and product info for reference ............ then you go to your favorite aussie vendor to actually buy the parts
linderman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts