Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Compatibility (PSU)

This is a discussion on Compatibility (PSU) within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Will this PSU be compatible with this computer? FRYS.com*|*Corsair HP Media Center m7265c Desktop PC Product Specifications HP Media Center


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-08-2011, 04:03 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Osea23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The United States
Posts: 217
OS: Windows 7 64-bit



Will this PSU be compatible with this computer?
FRYS.com*|*Corsair
HP Media Center m7265c Desktop PC Product Specifications HP Media Center m7265c Desktop PC - HP Customer Care (United States - English)
Osea23 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-08-2011, 04:33 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 5,959
OS: Win7, Win8, XP, Ubuntu



Assuming there's enough space in the case it will work fine.
JMPC is offline  
Old 03-08-2011, 04:34 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Osea23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The United States
Posts: 217
OS: Windows 7 64-bit



Do you mean if the PSU will have the correct dimensions for the PSU slot?
Osea23 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-08-2011, 04:37 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 5,959
OS: Win7, Win8, XP, Ubuntu



Yes, like if there's enough space in the PSU location, nothing blocking it from being mounted, etc.
JMPC is offline  
Old 03-08-2011, 04:39 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Osea23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The United States
Posts: 217
OS: Windows 7 64-bit



Ok, Thanks.
Osea23 is offline  
Old 03-08-2011, 04:51 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Osea23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The United States
Posts: 217
OS: Windows 7 64-bit



Ok, So will this PSU work with this computer?
FRYS.com*|*Raidmax
HP Media Center m7265c Desktop PC Product Specifications HP Media Center m7265c Desktop PC - HP Customer Care (United States - English)
Osea23 is offline  
Old 03-08-2011, 05:36 PM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 3,959
OS: Win 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System


Look at the label on the psu. If it says ATX on it. any standard atx will fit.

That raidmax is pure junk.
Newegg.com - SeaSonic S12II 620 Bronze 620W ATX12V V2.3 / EPS 12V V2.91 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply
shotgn is offline  
Old 03-08-2011, 08:21 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Osea23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The United States
Posts: 217
OS: Windows 7 64-bit



Do you have something a bit cheaper?
Osea23 is offline  
Old 03-08-2011, 08:22 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Osea23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The United States
Posts: 217
OS: Windows 7 64-bit



$60ish would be better.
Osea23 is offline  
Old 03-08-2011, 09:14 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Osea23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The United States
Posts: 217
OS: Windows 7 64-bit



Newegg.com - CORSAIR Builder Series CX430 CMPSU-430CX 430W ATX12V Active PFC Power Supply
Is this one OK? I don't need a lot of power because I'm not running a lot of hardware at once and it's an old computer so I don't want to waste my $ upgrading it.
Osea23 is offline  
Old 03-09-2011, 05:32 AM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 5,959
OS: Win7, Win8, XP, Ubuntu



That Corsair seems to be hit or miss judging by the reviews on Newegg. There was a time when Corsair was making rock solid PSU's but they seem to have fallen in quality control.

That's not to say you won't get a good unit but for the PC you have I would agree you don't need a lot of power.
JMPC is offline  
Old 03-09-2011, 06:37 AM   #12
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



We do not recommend the Corsair Builder's Series.



Tyree is offline  
Old 03-09-2011, 11:26 AM   #13
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 3,959
OS: Win 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System


How about this?
Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER Silent Pro M600 RS-600-AMBA-D3 600W ATX12V V2.3 SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Bronze Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply
shotgn is offline  
Old 03-09-2011, 12:51 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Osea23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The United States
Posts: 217
OS: Windows 7 64-bit



Anything a cheaper? I know this is pretty hard to find, especially with my requirements. $50ish please!
Osea23 is offline  
Old 03-09-2011, 12:53 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Osea23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The United States
Posts: 217
OS: Windows 7 64-bit



Newegg.com - CORSAIR Builder Series CMPSU-500CX 500W ATX12V v2.3 Active PFC Power Supply
This one seems pretty good, only one bad review and it's $60ish.
Osea23 is offline  
Old 03-09-2011, 02:37 PM   #16
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Again, we do not recommend the Corsair Builder's Series.
The CoolerMaster Pro for $73 that shotgn linked to is about the best your going to find in that price range.



Tyree is offline  
Old 03-09-2011, 04:23 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Osea23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The United States
Posts: 217
OS: Windows 7 64-bit



Ok, thanks.
Osea23 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for some PSU insight on the Antec EW 750w.
I am currently looking at a PSU on newegg that is having a special deal at the moment. Newegg.com - Antec EarthWatts EA750 750W Continuous Power ATX12V version 2.3 SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC "compatible with Core i7/Core i5" Power Supply Antec EarthWatts 750w...
NocturnalFoster RAM and Power Supply Support 12 02-04-2011 08:06 PM
New PSU won't POST; old PSU works
I'm trying to upgrade a 250W Bestec PSU with OCZ 600W SXS. The motherboard takes 20-pin without -5V pin. Bestec PSU has no -5V pin, and the system runs fine. I put in OCZ PSU, and fans (CPU, PSU and case) run, there is power to CD-ROM and hard drive, but motherboard won't POST -- no video signal...
flybone RAM and Power Supply Support 6 01-27-2011 05:31 AM
Desktop fried, bought new PSU, won't start. Help??
I'm kinda stuck here - my homemade rig is kaput and need help getting it started again. Original problem was that after moving it and hooking it up again I would hit the power switch and get absolutely no response. Opening the case I saw the mobo LED solid-on. If I hit the rocker switch on the...
korbitz Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 1 01-08-2011 02:03 PM
new PSU won't turn on.
Is there something I must do for a brand new PSU to turn on? Like simply plugging in the power cord, wait a few minutes or so till enough power is collected in the psu? Well I just plugged in my PSU earlier today after receiving it a few days ago after plugging in the power cord. I've tried several...
heyitskin RAM and Power Supply Support 8 01-01-2011 08:03 AM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts