Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

compability of different cards?

This is a discussion on compability of different cards? within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. bought 2x8gb 1600 memory cards (cheaper than the 1333 for some reason). can i connect them with my old 2x4gb


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-06-2018, 10:15 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 82
OS: Windows 7 64-bit



bought 2x8gb 1600 memory cards (cheaper than the 1333 for some reason).
can i connect them with my old 2x4gb memory ram cards or do i have to remove the older ones (i have 4 slots and 2 are currently unused)?
all are ddr3.
*i replaced many times before, but i was never quite sure if i have to do this.
assddd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-06-2018, 02:16 PM   #2
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,009
OS: Win7



You should run matched sticks, however sometimes you can get away with mismatched sticks but all will run at the speed of the slowest stick.
Bottom line put them in and try them but if you see any issues you'll need to pull out the older sticks.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 03-06-2018, 03:42 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 82
OS: Windows 7 64-bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrench97 View Post
You should run matched sticks, however sometimes you can get away with mismatched sticks but all will run at the speed of the slowest stick.
Bottom line put them in and try them but if you see any issues you'll need to pull out the older sticks.
and how will i recognize these issues ?
assddd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-06-2018, 03:44 PM   #4
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,009
OS: Win7



BSOD, it won't start, hangs etc you'll know.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 03-08-2018, 04:48 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 82
OS: Windows 7 64-bit



ok i decided to go for 2x8gb 1600 cards to avoid future problems.

i looked in cpu-z and each one says max 800 hrz. i read that i can change in my bios or enable xmp but i dont see xmp or extreme memory profile in my bios. but it says in grey 1600 hrz so im not sure if it runs as 1600 hrz.

*both cards were sold as singles, so i would assume each would say 1600 hrz as advertised.


btw what does it mean Multiplier 16.0 in the bios?


thanks for all the help.
assddd is offline  
Old 03-08-2018, 05:30 AM   #6
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
 
bassfisher6522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,323
OS: Windows 10 Pro



If your RAM is running at 1600 mhz....this is how: your multiplier is 16... 16 x bus speed (100)=1600

I like CPU-Z, this will show you a lot of information about your RAM.
bassfisher6522 is offline  
Old 03-09-2018, 07:51 AM   #7
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,468
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


800 is normal.

Remember, DDR stands for "double" data rate.

So 800 x 2 = 1600.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Card reader peripheral for non-credit-card cards?
Hi Everyone, Does anyone know of a magnetic-stripe card reader for iPad that can be used with cards that aren't credit/debit cards, but instead just in-house account cards? I work in travel and tourism, but we are "Cash-Less" for all transactions while our guests are with us. We have them,...
Unit Twentyfive Smart Devices | General Topics 3 04-26-2014 03:50 AM
Non-US Cards Used At Target Fetch Premium
Non-US Cards Used At Target Fetch Premium — Krebs on Security
JMH3143 Computer Security News 0 12-23-2013 05:49 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts